Depression Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Grandma taught me how to make this cake from a very young age, she wanted me to appreciate how treats don't have to be over the top or need special ingredients. She used oleo (margerine) instead of bacon grease and she also added a teaspoon of nutmeg. Whenever I make this, I feel like I'm in the kitchen with Grandma all over again. This makes great muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My family makes this with shortening and bakes it in a bundt style pan. Then we serve it with caramel icing. My mom still makes it for my birthdays. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My Mother made this for years. She called it "Poor man's fruitcake". Thank you for posting this and letting me carry on a family tradition at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Jeanne Clark-Fonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this last night for my family and even my 2 year old LOVED it! We absolutely devoured a full loaf after dinner. Now I had to change it a little because of what I had on hand at the time. I only had 1 cup of raisins ;-(. So I added a frozen mix of fruits that included cherries, strawberries, blueberries, and black currents. It turned out splendidly, thank you so much for an amazing recipe that I will be making on a regular basis now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This is a good cake i used prunes it was great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I like making it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVonna Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great cake! My kids love it! I increased the fat content. I used 3/4 cup of canola oil and it brought a lot of softness to the crumb and crust. Made it for a vegan friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Vincent Carrillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
yum!! I used 2tbs. Blue Bonnet margarine in place of the bacon grease and added 1/2tsp. ginger to the recipe and left out the rasins. It tasted like a spice cake to me. I made icing to drizzle over the top of each piece which we ate while still warm. For the icing I used 2 cups powdered sugar, 3tbs. milk and 1/2tsp. vanilla. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this cake and everybody really liked it, but it was a bit too sweet for my taste, so i'm gona use a lot les sugar next time. I added some nuts to it too and it came out really great. I'm defenetly making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elza C. Boe
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did substitute cinnamon applesauce for the bacon grease, and it turned out wonderful. I gave some to my Mom, and she absolutely loved it! I also love that it doesn't require milk, eggs or butter. As someone who doesn't have a lot of money, and can't afford to always have those ingredients, this will be one of my top recipes for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States