Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
The only addition needed is a dash of worcestershire sauce or soy sauce! One of my husbands favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Great Recipe! My hubby and I both LOVED it. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Made this a few years ago and was looking for an Onion Soup recipe again recently. When I tasted it, I wasn't sure it took me 2 years to make it again. I was out of the browning sauce, but put a dash of worstershire instead. So good. I love what the paprika does for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orange, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Rob, there's no doubt that this is an excellent FOS recipe. I used low sodium beef broth, red wine (didn't have white) and added a few more seasonings. The recipe called for paprika, but I didn't see in the instructions whether to add it to the soup, or if was meant to be a sprinkling over the cheese. Anyway, I did both and it was great. I always add some sugar to my onions as they're browning, which cuts down a little on the cooking time. Hubby's the FOS King and he and my family just loved it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was the best French onion soup I've made yet! An excellent quality wine (I used Santa Margarita Pinot Grigio) and Pacific Organic beef broth (without MSG) made this soup outstanding. I made a half batch (6 servings) for our family of 5 and we had plenty. I followed the recipe exactly (maybe not adding all the paprika) except for the browning sauce. I have never heard of it, but will look into it. My soup didn't miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Making this soup is my favorite snowy day activity--and it is an ALL DAY activity. The results are so worth the effort. I use Mayan onions (honey sweets) and Sweet Vermouth instead of white wine. This is s great complement to a good steak and potato meal on a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was the best onion soup I have ever tasted - in restaurants, or homemade! Followed the measurements exactly - wouldn't change a thing. My only regret is that I only made a half of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I have always loved this recipe. I got it out of the paper a long time ago. My recipe is a little different though. It does not have paprika and it calls for 3/4 cup of flour. It also says to make it one day and let it sit in the fridge overnight and heat it the next day. The last time I made it, I was hungry so I had some after simmering for about an hour. Don't do that! It was really missing something. I had another bowl the next day for lunch after letting it finish cooking. It was great as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this recipe it is a very spice filled soup and if you are planning on reheating this be sure to add a little extra water to this as is concentrates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States