Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Delicous and always hits the spot! If you have homemade beef stock use it, otherwise use 1/2 canned chicken broth and 1/2 canned beef broth. Canned beef broth can get too tinny tasty when reduced. I always add a pinch of salt to the onions, it makes them release their juices, hence their flavor, to the soup when browning them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Oh how wonderful! I have always used a very complicated onion soup recipe in the past that required two days to make. This was oh-so-good and so much easier. None of my three young children cared for it - but what do they know. Thank you for posting this sublime recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
THANK YOU, THANK YOU. I grew up with Famous Barr and I'm 59 years old! Their French Onion soup was a "must" for lunchtime shoppers and this IS IT!!! I followed the recipe exactly and wasn't disappointed. VERY GOOD and rich in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very easy to make and wonderful taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Obviously this takes a long time to prepare and cook but it is worth it. Only change I made was when it called for one cup of wine I changed it to another l/2 cup of beef broth and 1/2 cup of sherry. Also added a little thyme. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very, very good. This is a much heartier French onion soup than my previous recipe, which I seem to have misplaced. This and a salad actually filled my husband. I found the salt level to be pleasant, but my husband felt it was a little too salty. I used buillon cubes, so I'm sure that contributed to the saltiness. I added a few extra cubes to ensure the soup wasn't too weak, and in hindsight, I don't think that was necessary. I used Merlot instead of a white wine because that is what I had handy... also, I added a splash of balsamic vinegar towards the end of cooking. I toasted the french bread slices before broiling and mixed in a little romano and fresh mozarella with the swiss. All in all, very good. Our 11 year old asked for more soup instead of pizza. Don't be afraid to cook the onions for longer than stated. I made mine a nice golden brown - carmelized almost. I think that adds so much to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
It's true, you do need to cook the onions for at least an hour. I used mozzarella instead of swiss, also skipped the browning sauce. It's great with the white wine (don't skip that!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Just made this today, and it's a great recipe! We just moved in, so we didn't have wine or a bay leaf (had to borrow the flour!), but it's a easy, hardy soup to make for a cold rainy day. Now if only we could unpack the food processor to make slicing those onions easier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This was so much better than most of the onion soups I've ever had out!! Wow!! I made a huge batch of this (6x? can't remember now) for a church "SoUUper Sunday", and it was a huge hit. Every last drop was eaten, and I couldn't keep my spoon out of the pot when I was making it. I was worried that the directions weren't right about cooking the onions so long, but the whole recipe really turned out perfect. My mouth is watering now remembering it. Too bad my husband's not a fan of this type of soup or this would be made much more often at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I have been making this soup for the past 20 years and there is no other like it! The addition of the paprika adds a richness both in color and in taste and I often find myself adding more than the recipe calls for. My kids and relatives all make it for their families now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States