Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Takes some time, but definitely worth the outcome! I used 2 lbs red onions and 3 lbs yellow, and 2 quarts of beef broth and 1 quart of chicken broth....tasted great! Terrific winter meal w/ a salad! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the BEST french onion soup out there! I did add about 1/2 cup of worcestershire and fresh mozz. cheese. Perfect, even my 2 year old daughter LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sayhi2julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was so very east to make and had a great flavor. The recipe I used to use took a full day to make, and was not as flavorful as this one ! It really made a splash at our holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Just what I was looking for! I didn't have the wine or browning sauce and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easy Recipe Lover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Superb! Only little tweak I added was to put a very light spreading of dijon mustard on the french bread before I topped with the swiss cheese. Also added a dash of worcestershire as noted by previous reviewer (reduced salt accordingly). I also suspect that if you were out of white wine a few glugs of good sherry would work as well. You would NOT want to substitute red wine in this soup. Paired w/additional french bread and a bottle of Syrah. Lovely! The secret is giving the onions the full cooking time - this is an "all day" cooking soup but you'll love the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this for 40 vegan servings. That translated to 17lbs of yellow onions to caramelize. It took quite a while, but I'm happy I took the time to get them nice and brown as it really made the taste. With that big of an adjustment to the sizing, I reduced the paprika from over 1/3 cup to a few tablespoons and think that was wise in the end. With the onions caramelized so well, I didn't require a browning sauce. It tasted so good that I was honestly scared to toss some balsamic vinegar in there or something and to wind up ruining 10 quarts of good soup. I used a good quality veggie bouillon to make the broth. It got tons of compliments from children and adults, most of whom were not vegans or vegetarians, and several of them said they liked the soup but didn't even like onions! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Awesome recipe! I cut the recipe in half since there was only two of us to eat it and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n00dles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this recipe it is a very spice filled soup and if you are planning on reheating this be sure to add a little extra water to this as is concentrates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I have always loved this recipe. I got it out of the paper a long time ago. My recipe is a little different though. It does not have paprika and it calls for 3/4 cup of flour. It also says to make it one day and let it sit in the fridge overnight and heat it the next day. The last time I made it, I was hungry so I had some after simmering for about an hour. Don't do that! It was really missing something. I had another bowl the next day for lunch after letting it finish cooking. It was great as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States