Department Store Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
EXCELLENT. I ONLY HAD UNSALTED BUTTER, SO I HAD TO ADD SALT AT THE END. I USED SOME SWISS, ROMANO & MOZZARELLA. (NEVER HEARD OF SWISS CHEESE IN FR ONION....) I BROILED 2 THIN SLICES OF FRENCH BREAD. YOU DO HAVE TO COOK THOSE ONIONS FOR AT LEAST AN HR. AND NEAR THAT HOUR, KEEP WATCHING AS THEY WILL BURN. MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS SOUP, AND SO DID I. ONE MISTAKE, YOU DIDN'T SAY WHAT TO DO W/THE PAPRIKA. I ADDED IT WITH THE BAY LEAF, ETC.. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I have never made French Onion soup before, so I'm no expert, but I followed the cooking times and measurements exactly. The onions were not cooked enough and the soup tasted WAY too onion-y. Also, I served this at a family get together and needed 12 servings; this recipe makes more like 24+. No one needs that much French Onion soup...no one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
A good, basic recipe to begin with. Needed some umph added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was very good. My husband and I both liked it a lot. I added cayenne pepper to the soup and it gave it a little heat. I will make this again. I used too much browning sauce. Be careful. Also, I left the lid off the entire time, so there wasn't much broth left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylrowe
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Perfectly Wonderful and this is coming from an "always order French Onion Soup" lover. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was SO good! I only wish I had made twice as much - we liked it that much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
a bit salty - probably has more to do with my beef base than the recipe. very good. only cooked onions 1 hour, but then I'm not sure that I had a full 5 pounds to begin with. Will definitely make again, but probably will look for a lower sodium beef base first (or not - it's really good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This soup was AMAZING! I did have to add a bit of sugar to my onions and cooked them for over 2 hours but it was well worth it! This recipe makes A LOT of soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poltzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was outstanding! I didn't have white wine, so I substituted a Chianti, and I think the wine is essential to the success of the recipe. I also used a blend of swiss, mozerella and parmesan cheese. I counted on leftovers for lunch tomorrow, but even my son who doesn't usually eat onions loved this, so there isn't any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie
Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I added worcestershire and a little dijon because I usally add those to my onion soup. This recipe is outstanding. I am going to serve this at my dinner party next weekend. Excellent!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States