Denise's Peanut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I am really disappointed in this recipe. The only change I made was to add some peanut butter, but I still put in the exact amount of spices and other ingredients. My husband and I both thought it was extremely bland, it tasted like nothing. For all of the wonderful ingredients I added, I thought it should have much more flavor. If I were to make this again, I would double almost all of the ingredients that went into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This came together so quickly and easily. Highly recommendeed!!! After reading other reviews I made these changes: 1) Add 2 tbsp. peanut butter and decrease chopped peanuts to 3/4 cup. 2) Marinade chicken in the sauce for 30 mins. while you chop the veggies. 3) Triple all sauce ingredients except for chicken stock. Use 1 1/2 tbsp corn starch. 4) I added 1/2 steamed zucchini, 2 cups steamed broccoli and 8 mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! So quick and fun to make to break up the normal dinners. Fresh cilantro make this dish. I also add peanut butter to the sauce to make it taste like real pad thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Made this last night, and it was delicious. My suggestion would be to use half the green onions and substitute white onion for the other half. Next time I think I'll also add broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Made this for the first time last night, and it was a hit! I followed the suggestion to use peanut butter, and it worked fine - but 3/4 c. was too much. It over powered the other flavors. Next time I will cut it back to 1/2 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Used regular onion instead of green onion, flour instead of cornstarch, vegetable oil instead of peanut oil, and skipped the peanuts. I added bean sprouts. I served with fried rice with green bellpepper, which provided a pretty contrast of the the red pepper in this dish. My boyfriend wants me to open a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe as is, and it's pretty good. It does lack a bit of flavor though..missing that KICK.. I guess I was expecting this to be Big Bowl's thai basil peanut chicken... will look for ways to add that flavor next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
So good! I followed the other suggestions and left out the cornstarch, and added 3 Tbsp. of chunky peanut butter. I served this over brown rice, but next time I'll use whole-wheat noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent flavor. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Fabulous. Do add peanut butter to the sauce, it makes it even better over white rice. This is such a flexible recipe, so feel free to subtract and add what you like/dislike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States