Denise's Peanut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Very delicious recipe! My husband and I cooked this one together and we did make just a couple changes that I would recommend...leave out the cornstarch and peanuts and use 3/4 cup of chunky peanut butter instead. It gave it just right flavor, texture, and thickness. If it seems a little thin at first just cook until it thickens. The flavors in this dish really blend well. The cilantro and green onion really gives it the perfect unique taste, and it's not too pea-nutty. We served this over steamed brown rice along with some steamed broccoli. This one is a keeper! This was my review a couple years ago. Since then I have discovered that this is a lot better served over rice noodles. Also I add broccoli and bean sprouts. The broccoli flavor works really well in this dish. And I also add lime juice to the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This was delicious - though I made some changes. I used canola oil; 2 cloves of garlic (we love it); added chili flakes and about 1 TBS hoison sauce to the soy mixture and finally, I didn't use chopped peanuts. Instead, I took the advice of other reviewers and used about 3 TBS of chunky peanut butter. At first, the whole "concoction" looked a bit runny and I started to get worried. But let it simmer for about 10 minutes and you're good. I served this over white steamed rice and the best part is that the peanuty sauce will coat the rice and its mmm good. Boyfriend went back for thirds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This recipe is full of flavor, but I would definitely agree with doubling (if not tripling!) the sauce measurements, especially if you're thinking of serving this dish with rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Do note--the cilantro and fresh ginger are prominent, as in most dishes in which they play a part. So, if you don't go for these tastes, reduce or leave them out. This recipe is absolutely top shelf. I served it with instant white rice. They only modification I might make is to reduce the peanuts a bit to your own taste. Two cups is a LOT of peanuts for some folks. I dig peanuts, so it's okay by me. The complex, slightly exotic taste of this dish is excellent. My mother in law didn't like it, but she doesn't go for anything too far off the beaten path. If appearances count to you, you will love this one. It's plates up beautifully. Restaurant quality, indeed. And delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was one of the best dishes I've made. Definite keeper! I did alter one thing...I used CHUNKY peanut butter instead of the nuts, about 1/2 cup. The sauce was thicker, kinda creamy and really yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Romano Parsons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This recipe had a great deal of potential, which I hope to exploit the next time I make it. I think I will double the soy sauce, use honey instead of sugar, add more ginger and double the cayenne, decreasing the amount of broth as needed. I added broccoli and red onion, and halved the amount of peanuts. There will still a very satisfying amount, and that, plus the additional veggies made it considerably more healthy. Thanks, Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is one of my all-time favorite recipes. I make it for myself using chicken, or for my vegetarian friends using tofu which I press and cut into bite-sized squares. I make it a little different every time, but usually add plenty of vegetables (red peppers, sugar snap peas, broccoli, whatever I have on hand), and I always use 2-3 tbsp of extra crunchy peanut butter instead of peanuts. It's always a big hit whenever I bring it to potlucks, and I get frequent requests for the recipe. Thanks, Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
The flavors in this are great, but it needed more of the seasonings. While I didn't double the broth, I did double the other sauce ingredients, resulting in a wonderfully spicy, vibrant dish. I also added broccoli. Next time, I'll exchange some of the chopped peanuts for peanut butter to make a creamier, more substantial sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
It takes a while to chop everything up, but after that it is easy to make. And it is well worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Really good recipe. The flavor is great and it's simple to make. I didn't have cayenne pepper so used black pepper and chili powder instead. Also marinated the chicken for a bit in soy sauce, pepper, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States