Deluxe Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I could not in all conciousness serve this recipe as is to my family....at 1000cal/70grams fat per serving!!!! I made the following changes,I used fat free sour cream,98% fat free/low sodium cream of mushroom soup and 50% fat reduced bacon bits, I did not serve all the sauce. I'm sure it wasnt as good as the full fat version, will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe but I did make some changes to it. We don't eat mushrooms so instead of cream of mushroom I used cream of chicken. I also cooked half of an onion with the bacon and that added a nice flavor to the dish. I also sprinkled some fresh-cracked black pepper over the top of the dish. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
My husband tasted this and said "Wow!" The combination of flavors is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I broke the cooked bacon into bite-size pieces and sprinkled them on top of the chicken before adding the sauce. I also sauteed the mushrooms (on the same griddle as the bacon). Thanks for this terrific recipe...will definitely make again for both family and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This has been a family favorite for years. I place the chicken breast in a glass casserole and place a strip of bacon on top, then ad the sour cream/mushroom soup mixture and back with no foil for an hour....great with egg noodles to soak up great juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe that my sister-in-law always brings to family gatherings. In her version she adds a slice of dried beef (not Budding pressed beef-the stuff you want to look for is in the canned meat section, by the tuna etc.)under each chicken breast. I have found 2 ways to improve her/this dish. #1 I precook the bacon and chop it up, I cannot stand limp bacon! #2 Roughly chop the dried beef and mix in with the soup/sour cream mixture. While I agree with one reviewer who complained about the high calorie/fat content, I also understand that we can't eat this every night. Save this for a special occasion and indulge once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Simply Delicious! I made this last night and my husband said it was soooo good, he overate and his stomach ached! The only change I made was to add black pepper and garlic powder to the chicken, and I added some Worstershire and pepper to the sauce. It is "Company deserving" serving for sure. I really enjoy your recipes. I have made all of my meals for the last 3 days from these recipes. Thanks, Terri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I didn't like this as much as the other reviewers. There was way too much sour cream/soup sauce and the mixture curdled. I used a slice of bacon for each chicken breast and that was plenty - I can't imagine using 3 slices for each breast! I also used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. The sauce was okay, just too rich and way too much - a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I think I may get an engagement ring out of this one....he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was pretty good! My husband and I like a lot of different flavors, so I made a few revisions. I added one chopped fresh medium tomato, half a medium onion, a few table spoons of ranch dressing, and I also sauted fresh mushrooms in the bacon grease, drained and added it to the soup/sour cream mixture. Another change that I made was using only 8 slices of bacon instead of 18!! 18 seemed a bit much for me. Crumbled 4 over the chicken slices and 4 into the soup mixture! Tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Great recipe! My whole family loved it, which is a total compliment itself!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States