Deluxe Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I used hot chili sesame oil instead of the sesame oil. It gave it a good spicy bite. These were really good a lot better than take out! Will try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
These egg rolls had the look of being straight from the restaurant, but tasted otherwise. They were very bland! I substituted chicken for the turkey, but they could have really used salt! They were very gingery also...The vegetable combination is nice and I will make them again, altering the recipe a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
these were pretty bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These were not very good because of the turkey in these. To my knowledge the Chinese always used pork in them, let's keep it that way and I bet you with the ground pork in your recipe these would be sensational!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
My family really liked these! The bok choy instead of cabbage added a wonderful cruch to these. I didn't think these were missing out on flavor at all. I started with 2 T of olive oil in the bottom of a small skillet then added 1 lb of Jenni-O frozen turkey. I seasoned the meat with onion powder, garlice powder, and Lawrey's seasoning salt. I drained the meat once it was cooked through. I chose not to pre cook my veggies and used egg roll wrappers instead of doubling won ton wrappers. These turned out moist, full of flavor, and great crunch! Even after doubling the recipe I had no left overs! We will definitly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Filer, Idaho, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
As written I give this recipe a three, but I feel strongly this could be made into a 5 star recipe. I've made these twice, and both times they've been satisfactory. This time I made them, I used a bag of coleslaw mix, and I shredded an extra carrot to go into them. I've also used regular ginger powder instead of buying ginger root since that's what I've had on hand. I put the ginger in to taste. I also added in salt, a little bit of garlic, onion powder, and several dashes of soy sauce and worcestershire sauce. Unfortunately I thought I had green onions, but didn't have any so I had to leave them out. They still tasted fine without them. In making these egg rolls twice I've learned that over seasoning them is better than under seasoning them. Don't be afraid to really spruce up the filling with spices and seasonings. Next time I'm going to go a little bolder with the flavor. **A forewarning: DO NOT STUFF THE WONTONS UNTIL YOU ARE READY TO FRY THEM. The wrappers will get wet and not fry properly if they sit for too long.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is a great way to use up extra bok choy from the garden. I sprayed both sides of the eggrolls lightly with olive oil and baked them in the oven at 425 for about 10 min on each side. This made them crispy & a bit healthier. Next time I will use full side eggroll wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is a good BASE recipe for eggrolls, however it required a few alterations to get my families approval: sub ground chicken for the turkey, instead of bok choy and carrots, use pre-packaged coleslaw mix, for more flavor triple the green onions and add cilantro and a few dashes of worsteshire and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
These egg rolls are actually very good. I did'nt change anything except I added some soy sauce to give it a little more flavor and everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Parkinson
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and have altered it each time but this last time I used a bag of raw cole slaw mix (shredded cabbage and carrots) instead of the bok choy, and added chili garlic paste and sesame seeds for a bit more flavor. Overall, this recipe is a keeper and is surprisingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Parkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States