Deluxe Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Props to the recipe submitter for using homemade corned beef (not out of a can, like the 2 top rated recipes on the site). I think, as written, this recipe is a solid 4 stars, and I did try to follow closely, but the end result seemed to be missing something. I used leftover corned beef from the recipe Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches. I did omit the olive oil, and instead just used 2 tablespoons of salted butter. I also omitted the carrots. I had cooked the potatoes the night before, so I diced them up and added them to the onions while they were cooking. In addition to the recommended ingredients, I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce. I also used quite a bit of fresh cracked black pepper (I didn't want it spicy, I just wanted it to have a nice bold flavor). I then pressed it in to the pan and let it cook on medium low to get just a little bit of a crisp on it. Served it with an egg and toasted rye bread, and it was absolutely killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is EXACTLY how I make my corned beef hash. I, too, make sure that when I buy a corned beef, I buy one extra big so I can have a piece leftover for this hash. The onlyt thing I don't do is add the carrot...AND...I use potatoes that have been pre-cooked. I generally bake a few long white potatoes a day or so before I make the hash...you could also use the leftover potatoes if you started out with a New England Boiled Dinner. This is JUST delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Miseyko Gutekunst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is way better than canned hash! Even my husband loves it! I cooked a pre-seasoned, marinated Garrett County brisket for this, so it also had a mustard seed and bay leaf flavor, as well as the thyme that this recipe calls for. I am going to make this for my mom next time she visits; she also loves hash and I think she will find it marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've been trying to find the perfect hash recipe. This one came out great with a few modifications. First i blanched the potatoes in my deep fryer for about 3 min at 375. I mixed it all together and put it in the oven at 350 for 30 min and the potatoes browned up nicely. I'll definately be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I just made this dish for my fam...and it was a hit! I used a couple other herbs for flavoring such as rosemary, parsley, oregano, basil, mint, sage and thyme, and those herbs made this dish sing! I did however make this a little thicker by adding some chicken broth and finishing it with some monterey jack cheese. I then made some sunny-side up eggs and placed them atop of the hash, and....a masterpiece....I will be making this in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eboney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
A beautiful, colorful, filling dish. However... I really can't say that it knocked my socks off... it's a lot of work for a ho-hum dish. I made exactly per recipe instructions. A solid three-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
boat club food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent! I omitted the carrots, only because I didn't think the recipe needed them, and it was fantastic! Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a very delicious recipe. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Kinnee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
But can I just say this is not what the Irish eat on Patrick's day? They eat bacon and cabbage. Not bacon like a slice of bacon but a round of bacon. Or a joint of bacon. Having said that, this is a great recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States