Deluxe Chocolate Marshmallow Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
These bars are awesome! My husband said they are the best bars he has ever had!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I took these to work and everyone loved them. I used a 13X9 pan as well and cooked it for 20min. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
These are so great! This is our favorite dessert in my house! I wish I would have found this recipe sooner! I can get closer to 36 servings out of this, too, since they are a bit rich. Store and serve right from the fridge. If left at room temp, they get a bit gooey and are not as pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I have been making these bars for quite a few years and they are always a huge hit because they are so different from a standard brownie cookie. For those who think the layers do not go together, please note that after these have refrigerated thoroughly to set up, let the bars come to room temperature before eating. The top chocolate layer should soften slightly to the touch. These are very rich, but they will melt in your mouth. Every time I have made them I am asked for the recipe. I have had more success by baking these in a standard 13 x 9 pan instead of using a jelly roll. This is because the bottom cake layer yields a small amount and will be very thin in the jelly roll pan, and too easy to over bake. Be sure NOT to over bake the cake layer, remove before the edges become too crisp. To make this easier and for a smoother middle layer, use a jar of marshmallow creme instead of regular marshmallows. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
My family loves these bars. I use a jelly roll pan and actually have to bake the bottom cake layer a little longer than the stated 15-18 minutes (my pan is insulated, though). Next time I will try using marshmallow creme, as the marshmallow layer is hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Very rich and delicious! If you use a 9" by 13" pan, you need to bake it a little longer or the cake part won't be done enough. But they are thicker (and in my opinion better!) this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
these are EXCELLENT. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I used a 13x9" pan. this made the layers even so the bars were really pretty when cut. I did have to bake the cake layer about 5 minutes longer than specified. Also, if you keep the bars in the oven the full 3 minutes to soften the mini marshmallows, it is no problem to spread them. It doesn't have to be perfectly smooth, either, so don't worry about how it looks, because when you spread on the choc/pb layer it covers up any imperfections. It takes quite awhile for the bars to set up in the fridge but once they are firm they cut into beautiful squares. this recipe is fairly time consuming but worth the extra effort. I was able to get 48 1" (approx)squares from the recipe using a 13x9" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
The kids loved these. The bottom is like a cakey brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I have been making these for years and everyone loves them. When I take them to work people tell me I could sell them, ask for the recipe, and call them the big O bars among other things. I do leave out the butter in the top layer as it's not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These tasted really good, but I followed what someone else said and just used a 9x13 pan I couldn't get the cake part to cook right, but I thought maybe it's supposed to be that way and finished the recipe. Hoping it would fix itself by refridgerating over night...well it didn't. The middle part was to gooey to eat but the outside edges were edible. Tasted great and can't wait to try in a jelly roll pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States