Deluxe Chocolate Marshmallow Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I have been making these bars for quite a few years and they are always a huge hit because they are so different from a standard brownie cookie. For those who think the layers do not go together, please note that after these have refrigerated thoroughly to set up, let the bars come to room temperature before eating. The top chocolate layer should soften slightly to the touch. These are very rich, but they will melt in your mouth. Every time I have made them I am asked for the recipe. I have had more success by baking these in a standard 13 x 9 pan instead of using a jelly roll. This is because the bottom cake layer yields a small amount and will be very thin in the jelly roll pan, and too easy to over bake. Be sure NOT to over bake the cake layer, remove before the edges become too crisp. To make this easier and for a smoother middle layer, use a jar of marshmallow creme instead of regular marshmallows. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
these are EXCELLENT. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I used a 13x9" pan. this made the layers even so the bars were really pretty when cut. I did have to bake the cake layer about 5 minutes longer than specified. Also, if you keep the bars in the oven the full 3 minutes to soften the mini marshmallows, it is no problem to spread them. It doesn't have to be perfectly smooth, either, so don't worry about how it looks, because when you spread on the choc/pb layer it covers up any imperfections. It takes quite awhile for the bars to set up in the fridge but once they are firm they cut into beautiful squares. this recipe is fairly time consuming but worth the extra effort. I was able to get 48 1" (approx)squares from the recipe using a 13x9" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
These are so great! This is our favorite dessert in my house! I wish I would have found this recipe sooner! I can get closer to 36 servings out of this, too, since they are a bit rich. Store and serve right from the fridge. If left at room temp, they get a bit gooey and are not as pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe was simply mediocre. The layers did not seem to go together (the chewy so called "cookie crust" and the marshmallow texture did not blend well at all) and the peanut butter was unexpectedly overpowering. Making this recipe was a wasste of my time. Nobody even wanted to try them. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was a great recipe... but I did change it up alittle. I added marshmallows to the peanut butter topping and i did not use chocolate inthe top layer. Turned out amazing... i am making them again tonight! The last time they only lasted 2 days! (i used a 13x9 cake pan) and had to leave the bottom layer in about 10 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I took these to work and everyone loved them. I used a 13X9 pan as well and cooked it for 20min. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Forsman
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very tastey, the only thing I changed was instead of using peanut butter for the topping I used almond butter because of my hubby's peanut allergy. If not I think it would have spread alot easier, and would have looked so much more appealing. Feeds a large crowd, and tastes good. A keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These tasted really good, but I followed what someone else said and just used a 9x13 pan I couldn't get the cake part to cook right, but I thought maybe it's supposed to be that way and finished the recipe. Hoping it would fix itself by refridgerating over night...well it didn't. The middle part was to gooey to eat but the outside edges were edible. Tasted great and can't wait to try in a jelly roll pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
These were a combination of everything I love! I did double the amound of rice krispies and left the amount of peanut butter and chocolat chips the same. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Albion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
delicious, this was a great recipe, will definitely make it again. easy to make. loved it soooo good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States