Deluxe Chocolate Marshmallow Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
fantastic!!! everyone who tried it totally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This recipe was simply mediocre. The layers did not seem to go together (the chewy so called "cookie crust" and the marshmallow texture did not blend well at all) and the peanut butter was unexpectedly overpowering. Making this recipe was a wasste of my time. Nobody even wanted to try them. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
These are so great! This is our favorite dessert in my house! I wish I would have found this recipe sooner! I can get closer to 36 servings out of this, too, since they are a bit rich. Store and serve right from the fridge. If left at room temp, they get a bit gooey and are not as pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I have been making these bars for quite a few years and they are always a huge hit because they are so different from a standard brownie cookie. For those who think the layers do not go together, please note that after these have refrigerated thoroughly to set up, let the bars come to room temperature before eating. The top chocolate layer should soften slightly to the touch. These are very rich, but they will melt in your mouth. Every time I have made them I am asked for the recipe. I have had more success by baking these in a standard 13 x 9 pan instead of using a jelly roll. This is because the bottom cake layer yields a small amount and will be very thin in the jelly roll pan, and too easy to over bake. Be sure NOT to over bake the cake layer, remove before the edges become too crisp. To make this easier and for a smoother middle layer, use a jar of marshmallow creme instead of regular marshmallows. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
My family loves these bars. I use a jelly roll pan and actually have to bake the bottom cake layer a little longer than the stated 15-18 minutes (my pan is insulated, though). Next time I will try using marshmallow creme, as the marshmallow layer is hard to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Petrie Cable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Very rich and delicious! If you use a 9" by 13" pan, you need to bake it a little longer or the cake part won't be done enough. But they are thicker (and in my opinion better!) this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
these are EXCELLENT. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I used a 13x9" pan. this made the layers even so the bars were really pretty when cut. I did have to bake the cake layer about 5 minutes longer than specified. Also, if you keep the bars in the oven the full 3 minutes to soften the mini marshmallows, it is no problem to spread them. It doesn't have to be perfectly smooth, either, so don't worry about how it looks, because when you spread on the choc/pb layer it covers up any imperfections. It takes quite awhile for the bars to set up in the fridge but once they are firm they cut into beautiful squares. this recipe is fairly time consuming but worth the extra effort. I was able to get 48 1" (approx)squares from the recipe using a 13x9" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
The kids loved these. The bottom is like a cakey brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I took these to work and everyone loved them. I used a 13X9 pan as well and cooked it for 20min. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This is not a recipe to scoff at. I, too, was expecting more of a cookie-type "crust" but then again I used a 9 X 13 pan rather than a jelly roll pan. The bottom was a yummy fudgy brownie, could be because I used 1 oz. of unsweetened chocolate rather than cocoa (hence I increased the flour to 1 1/2 c.). I also added toasted coconut into the chocolate/cereal mixture. Very good...next time I might try a layer of caramel ice cream topping in between the marshmallow and cereal layers. Thanks Sandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States