Deluxe Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
omitted spices, and used my own pie crust recipe. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I reduced this recipe to make 2 blackberry tarts for Valentine's Day. They came out very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryam
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow! I got rave reviews when I made two of these pies for two different Thanksgiving parties! I used all frozen berries (mostly blackberries, but a bag of mixed too) defrosted them, and pureed a cup of them.. that gave me plenty of "sauce" without taking away too many chunky berries in the pie.. to make it easier, I left the seeds in.. and it was still spectacular! I also left out all the spices, and used lemon juice for the brandy. A wonderful pie recipe, and it was only my first time making one.. but nobody could tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
The best ever blackberry pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I made this pie for our church luncheon yesterday. I did put a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg in the filling, not enough to overpower but just enough to add a touch of goodness. Even though my pie dough fell apart as I was trying to put it in the pan and I had to piece it together, it must have been a great success, I came home with an empty pie pan. Everyone that had a piece said it was excellent. I really like the idea of the pureed berries to add to the whole fruit. I am going to try a blueberry pie this way also. Thanks for the grand idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
"Mom, I love this pie! Can you make it again before school starts?" This accolade came from my 12-year-old son, who hasn't willingly even licked a piece of fruit since he was three. Because he likes the taste of fruit, but not the texture, I tried this recipe because I wanted to replace fruit with puree. I used a blend of blackberries, raspberries and blueberries (frozen) and, because I was using a deep-dish crust, increased the amount by 1-2 cups, but only increased the sugar slightly. I used only 1 rounded tsp. of cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp. of allspice; even so, my husband thought it was a bit too spicy. But this is unquestionably the most popular fruit pie I've made in some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
OK, but bitter, next time I'll add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
My family loved this recipe and I will make it again. The brandy and spices gave it an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This pie is very good when spices are reduced to 1/8 or 1/4 tsp of nutmeg 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I had never made a pie before and this one was amazing!!! By blending and straining the berries, there were alot less seeds and the texture was nice and rich. I had lots of fresh blackberries from the farmers market. I took the pie to work and it disappeared! I took some other people's advice and cut down on the spices just a little and I also added cloves, which made the pie taste wonderful. I didn't have blackberry brandy so I used a little juice from a fruit cocktail cup. It was absolutely wonderful! Don't hesitate to make your pie this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States