Deluxe Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bakeaholic
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was one of the best pies I have ever made. I loved the sauce that was made with the pureed berries and sugar... I could have eaten it by itself. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This pie was delicious. I didn't have any blackberry brandy but substituted amaretto to good effect. The only problem I had was that the filling was still very liquid after I added the prescribed amount of cornstarch--I ended up adding a great deal more cornstarch, which was somewhat detrimental to the finished pie. In the future I might try tapioca pearls for thickening instead. Overall, though, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The BEST blackberry pie in the world! I love this pie! My husband loves this pie! This pie gets rave reviews every time I make it for other people! I use 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/3 tsp. allspice (I prefer allspice to nutmeg), and 3 tblsp. of the blackberry brandy, just because I really really really like the way the brandy tastes with the berries. I also sprinkle a teaspoons or two of quick-cooking tapioca over the fresh berries before adding the puree, because blackberry pie is very finicky about setting up. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I liked making a blackberry puree/thickener before assembling the pie - it had a rich flavor that enhanced the pie. I used Chambord instead of brandy (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Love Love Love this recipe!! My Husband's Favorite!This was an easy pie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Procedurally, there are several things wrong with this recipe. As an example, it is advised to mix 4 tablespoons of corn starch into 2 tablespoons of brandy before combining with the rest of the liquid. In addition, I found the filling to be way over-spiced to the extent that you can barely taste anything else in the pie. I plan to make more blackberry pies, but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is SO tasty! I have never made blackberry pie and this is just fantastic. I had 2 slices myself and my friend as well. He said it's the best pie he's ever had. Fresh out of the oven is the best but he prefers one day old when all the juices have thickened. I love the nutmeg/cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
It was pretty good, but too sweet. That's my only issue really, just too much sugar I guess? The bites of crust balanced it out, I ate it with ice cream so that helped it too. I did have an issue with it being too runny as well! Cut the pie and it all just rushed out. Too much liquid to berry ratio, and I even added extra berries. Ooh well its still yummy :) EDIT: the 1-2 days after baking were MUCH better. The pie just needs time to set. I'd still use closer to 1 c. sugar. ALSO, very important, forgot to mention I agree: i only used 1/8 t. nutmeg and about 1 t. cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made this recipe from blackberries picked last season and frozen. Our vines are thornless and produce pretty sour fruit. But this was the BEST blackberry pie I've ever made or tasted! The amount of sugar was just right, balancing the tartness of the berries. I loved the cinnamon and nutmeg flavors; they added a nice complexity. I didn't use the cognac; instead I substituted 1 T vanilla and 2 T reserved (unsweetened) juice. At last, a great recipe to use up all those blackberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This pie turned out beautifully! I made it for my father-in-law & he LOVED it...now I have to make it anytime there is a special occassion!! I didn't strain the puree, and I only used a 1/2 tbsp. of cinnamon & 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. It really gives it a more homemade taste w/out so much spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States