Deluxe Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
In the past I've had problems getting my blackberry pies to thicken. I think it is because I use fresh berries, not frozen and they have more juice in them. This recipie take care of that nicely. The only problem is the large amount of spices mask the berry flavor. I plan to make it with just a little bit of lemon juice/zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I had never made a pie before and this one was amazing!!! By blending and straining the berries, there were alot less seeds and the texture was nice and rich. I had lots of fresh blackberries from the farmers market. I took the pie to work and it disappeared! I took some other people's advice and cut down on the spices just a little and I also added cloves, which made the pie taste wonderful. I didn't have blackberry brandy so I used a little juice from a fruit cocktail cup. It was absolutely wonderful! Don't hesitate to make your pie this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This pie is very good when spices are reduced to 1/8 or 1/4 tsp of nutmeg 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
Love this recipe and have made it often. I replace the brandy with Lemon Juice and leave out the spices. Excellent pie, never left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
This pie looks great and has a wonderful texture, but the spices are overwhelming. Even after cutting the nutmeg down to 1 teaspoon. It is like eating a mouthful of cinnamon. I had to throw out half of the pie. No one would finish it. I will make it again with little or no spices. I think it will be great that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maryam
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow! I got rave reviews when I made two of these pies for two different Thanksgiving parties! I used all frozen berries (mostly blackberries, but a bag of mixed too) defrosted them, and pureed a cup of them.. that gave me plenty of "sauce" without taking away too many chunky berries in the pie.. to make it easier, I left the seeds in.. and it was still spectacular! I also left out all the spices, and used lemon juice for the brandy. A wonderful pie recipe, and it was only my first time making one.. but nobody could tell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I reduced this recipe to make 2 blackberry tarts for Valentine's Day. They came out very well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This pie turned out beautifully! I made it for my father-in-law & he LOVED it...now I have to make it anytime there is a special occassion!! I didn't strain the puree, and I only used a 1/2 tbsp. of cinnamon & 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. It really gives it a more homemade taste w/out so much spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
"Mom, I love this pie! Can you make it again before school starts?" This accolade came from my 12-year-old son, who hasn't willingly even licked a piece of fruit since he was three. Because he likes the taste of fruit, but not the texture, I tried this recipe because I wanted to replace fruit with puree. I used a blend of blackberries, raspberries and blueberries (frozen) and, because I was using a deep-dish crust, increased the amount by 1-2 cups, but only increased the sugar slightly. I used only 1 rounded tsp. of cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp. of allspice; even so, my husband thought it was a bit too spicy. But this is unquestionably the most popular fruit pie I've made in some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
OK, but bitter, next time I'll add more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States