Delmonico Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We served this with a smoked spiral ham and it was fantastic! We added chopped cooked bacon and green onions to each layer and topped it off with the same. Added extra cheese and it was a major hit. Will definitley do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My whole family loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Very good recipe, we prepared it just like it said and after tasting it we will be making these changes. Boil potatoes a bit longer, 12 - 15 minutes. Use half the sour cream (unless you really LIKE sour cream, because as the recipe is written that is the strongest flavor). If you cut the sour cream add a half cup milk more. I would also add a teaspoon of dill (preferably fresh, but dried will do). And I would up the temperature to 400. Sounds like a lot of changes but it really isn't - it really was pretty easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
These were delicious, but lacking in original flavor, but I would definitely make them again, just adding some fresh herbs the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I first tried this recipe last Christmas. Everyone loved it and the recipe has since been shared with other members of my family. I cut some of the calories and fat by using fat free sour cream and 'light' cheese. Although it takes more time than I like to prepare, it's very well worth it. Huge hit with all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe is delicious and was a nice change to your standard potatoes dish. This recipe did not state what size baking dish was needed and found that the one I used was to deep. I would suggest using more of a rectangle pan over a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
This was absolutely incredible! At first I thought the bleu cheese might be too overpowering, but it wasn't. I did change the recipe up a bit based on other reviews. I changed the amount of flour to 4 tablespoons. I also added quite a bit of seasoning to it. Being that I'm from New Orleans, I like to kick it up a notch..."BAM!" I sauteed garlic in the butter and I added about 2 tablespoons of Old Bay seasoning to the cheese/cream mixture. Everyone that ate it can't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This recipe was a hit at out house. It is similar but a little different from the hashbrown recipe I have been using for years. Next time I make though I will have to change a few things. First, when I mixed the seasoning with the butter it made it difficult to spread evenly. I would suggest sprinkling the seasoning on the potato layers and then spreading the butter. I had sections that were really salty and some that needed a lot of salt. I used gold potatoes, I don't know if this is why, but it got watery. I don't know how to fix that though. The taste was creamy and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I thought that this recipe was awesome, I did add some crushed garlic and fresh parsley to the spice mixture. It was very tasty and a nice change from the normal potatoe recipes. My kids ate it so I would definitly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
OK, but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States