Delmonico Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Loved these!! I made half the recipe but cheated & used frozen shredded hashbrowns. I used 5 cups(frozen, NOT thawed) for 1/2 the recipe. I also halved the salt & pepper on top of halving the recipe(so actually quartered the salt & pepper, I suppose:), just for personal taste. I didn't layer-just mixed everything up together. They were sooooo good!! Using the frozen hashbrowns, it looked very dry going into the oven but it baked up creamy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Wonderful, I love it. One of my fave restaurants serves this as one of their potato choices. It works fine with frozen shredded hashbrowns or the ones from the refrigerator section. Less work and time. No need for layering this, I mix everything together, pour it in a baking dish, and stick it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Oh, where do I begin with this recipe?! They are absolutely delicious, but I can't give it a full 5 stars because some of the ingredients in the ingredients list do not match up with the ingredients in the directions which made the recipe very unclear to me. First, it says butter...well, is it melted butter or softened or what? I used melted. Then it said to mix the butter with the spices, but then it says to sprinkle the 'dry' spices over the potatoes, so that's confusing. Then it says to grate the processed cheese, so I assumed Velveets(R), but in the directions it says to pour on the processed cheese sauce...huh???? What I ended up doing was taking all the ingredients and doing what I thought was right which was mixing the melted butter (I used light) with the spices (only using 1/2 of the salt) and onions. I also 1/2'd the sour cream/milk mixture (I used light sour cream and fat free milk) and was glad I did, as it would've been too much, IMO, and I used light Velveeta(R) that I shredded. The result was a fantastic potato dish that I will definately make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Very good recipe, we prepared it just like it said and after tasting it we will be making these changes. Boil potatoes a bit longer, 12 - 15 minutes. Use half the sour cream (unless you really LIKE sour cream, because as the recipe is written that is the strongest flavor). If you cut the sour cream add a half cup milk more. I would also add a teaspoon of dill (preferably fresh, but dried will do). And I would up the temperature to 400. Sounds like a lot of changes but it really isn't - it really was pretty easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We served this with a smoked spiral ham and it was fantastic! We added chopped cooked bacon and green onions to each layer and topped it off with the same. Added extra cheese and it was a major hit. Will definitley do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I used more onion than the recipe called for, reduced the amount of milk, and used cheddar cheese instead of velveeta - it was very yummy! It was just as good the next day for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I first tried this recipe last Christmas. Everyone loved it and the recipe has since been shared with other members of my family. I cut some of the calories and fat by using fat free sour cream and 'light' cheese. Although it takes more time than I like to prepare, it's very well worth it. Huge hit with all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This recipe was a hit at out house. It is similar but a little different from the hashbrown recipe I have been using for years. Next time I make though I will have to change a few things. First, when I mixed the seasoning with the butter it made it difficult to spread evenly. I would suggest sprinkling the seasoning on the potato layers and then spreading the butter. I had sections that were really salty and some that needed a lot of salt. I used gold potatoes, I don't know if this is why, but it got watery. I don't know how to fix that though. The taste was creamy and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was pretty good - a 4.5 for flavor. But I have to agree with Christine about the confusing directions. I too melted the butter and it was much easier to dribble that on as a layer rather than trying to spread just softened butter. And I used velveeta. In addition to what she said, we're instructed for the spice/butter layer to only mix half of it and then to put all of it (implied but huh?) on as a layer, but instructed to just use all of the other ingredients and layer half of them (as it should be). And then it never instructs to actually mix the other half of the spice/butter ingredients. This is one of those cases where you better read through the entire directions first, otherwise you'll find yourself wasting time mixing the other half of the spice/butter stuff. That's just silly, and even an experienced cook might need to do a double-take of that. But in the end, it was tasty. Next time I think I'd try the frozen hash browns. Grating potatoes wasn't my favorite activity, and I might try a different cheese as well. I also might mix it all together as some have. (Another note, some people might not get what 3/8 cup is. Call it 6 tbsp or 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This recipe is delicious and was a nice change to your standard potatoes dish. This recipe did not state what size baking dish was needed and found that the one I used was to deep. I would suggest using more of a rectangle pan over a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States