Delmonico Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
my potatoes were a little underdone even after baking. i also added crumbled gorgonzola to boost the flavor. flavor was great, potatoes were underdone, otherwise i would have given 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this for Easter dinner yesterday. The family really liked it. I used thawed frozen hash browns instead of grating potatoes and I also used shredded Colby jack and cheddar cheese. I just mixed everything together instead of doing the layers. Otherwise followed the rest of the recipe. I think next time I will reduce the sour cream. I found the flavor too strong. Will also add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Thanks to Christina, I re-read the instructions before printing the recipe. The recipe sounds delicious. However, as Christina said, the directions are confusing at best. The recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of minced onion. Unless I am as blind as a bat, I never could find what to do with the second tablespoon on onions and the rest of the butter. As for the butter, I will either dot the potatoes with it or mix in melted butter with the potatoes and sprinkle the dried spices over the potatoes. Since I am not a fan of processed cheese, I will substitute a good sharp cheddar over a processed cheese. And like Christina, I too will substitute low-fat milk and sour cream and lessen the amount of sour cream. I have no doubt that it will taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was pretty good - a 4.5 for flavor. But I have to agree with Christine about the confusing directions. I too melted the butter and it was much easier to dribble that on as a layer rather than trying to spread just softened butter. And I used velveeta. In addition to what she said, we're instructed for the spice/butter layer to only mix half of it and then to put all of it (implied but huh?) on as a layer, but instructed to just use all of the other ingredients and layer half of them (as it should be). And then it never instructs to actually mix the other half of the spice/butter ingredients. This is one of those cases where you better read through the entire directions first, otherwise you'll find yourself wasting time mixing the other half of the spice/butter stuff. That's just silly, and even an experienced cook might need to do a double-take of that. But in the end, it was tasty. Next time I think I'd try the frozen hash browns. Grating potatoes wasn't my favorite activity, and I might try a different cheese as well. I also might mix it all together as some have. (Another note, some people might not get what 3/8 cup is. Call it 6 tbsp or 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I was disapointed with the outcome of thiis recipe. It is a good tasting potato side dish but I will stick to my favourite scalloped potato recipe to which I could add sour cream to get the same flavour as this time-consuming recipe (boiling potatoes the day before, not to mention the extra dishes this recipe creates does not make it working-mom friendly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soleil01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Loved these!! I made half the recipe but cheated & used frozen shredded hashbrowns. I used 5 cups(frozen, NOT thawed) for 1/2 the recipe. I also halved the salt & pepper on top of halving the recipe(so actually quartered the salt & pepper, I suppose:), just for personal taste. I didn't layer-just mixed everything up together. They were sooooo good!! Using the frozen hashbrowns, it looked very dry going into the oven but it baked up creamy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Oh, where do I begin with this recipe?! They are absolutely delicious, but I can't give it a full 5 stars because some of the ingredients in the ingredients list do not match up with the ingredients in the directions which made the recipe very unclear to me. First, it says butter...well, is it melted butter or softened or what? I used melted. Then it said to mix the butter with the spices, but then it says to sprinkle the 'dry' spices over the potatoes, so that's confusing. Then it says to grate the processed cheese, so I assumed Velveets(R), but in the directions it says to pour on the processed cheese sauce...huh???? What I ended up doing was taking all the ingredients and doing what I thought was right which was mixing the melted butter (I used light) with the spices (only using 1/2 of the salt) and onions. I also 1/2'd the sour cream/milk mixture (I used light sour cream and fat free milk) and was glad I did, as it would've been too much, IMO, and I used light Velveeta(R) that I shredded. The result was a fantastic potato dish that I will definately make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is very very tasty. I made it with plain yogurt and part half and half because that's what I had. The yogurt wasn't drained, so the dish became watery and curdled looking. In spite of that, it still tasted fantastic. I love the seasoning mix for other uses as well. I want to try this with seared chicken breast on top and broccoli as an all-in-one dish. This would probably work well in a slow cooker as well. Will make again, for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Wonderful, I love it. One of my fave restaurants serves this as one of their potato choices. It works fine with frozen shredded hashbrowns or the ones from the refrigerator section. Less work and time. No need for layering this, I mix everything together, pour it in a baking dish, and stick it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
We liked these potatoes. I only had 8oz sour cream and quite a bit less cheese than the recipe called for. I'm glad that I left that extra cheese out. I don't think these potatoes need it. Next time I will add more onion too. Great starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States