Delmonico Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We don't use processed cheese so I substituted mild cheddar. Nice and easy; everyone liked these. I think they could use some seasoning, and maybe breadcrumbs/paprika for color. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is yummy. We really don't care for processed cheese, so I used a sharp cheddar and a little colby jack, too, instead. I layered the cheese, potatoes, and onions and poured the milk mixture over the top, and I used evaporated milk instead of half and half. I also added some garlic powder, dry mustard, and red pepper to the milk mixture. I don't know how close my end result is to the recipe, but we love it; that's a success in my book! Mine did take much longer than the time in the recipe, but my hash browns (I used Yukon Gold frozen ones) were just partially thawed, so I expected that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
New family favorite and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Just didn't work for our family. I followed the recipe exactly. Once in a while I'll tweak a recipe that has a good basic taste and is quick and easy but this wasn't one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I tried this for the first time and it was really good. My husband said it was very much like "honeymoon potatoes" except that cottage cheese is used instead of half-and-half. I took another reviewers suggestion and used Potatoes O'Brien...this added a lot of flavor plus I sprinkled with garlic salt and pepper. I used Velveeta and a little shredded sharp cheddar. I defrosted the potatoes first so I thought the cooking time would be less, but after 1/2 hour at 350 it was still very soupy. Increased the temperature to 400 and took off the tin foil. Only then did it cook more quickly. and to the right consistency. Not sure why you do covered for so long....maybe it works better with frozen potatoes. Very good and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
My family absolutely LOVED them! They were ALL gone by morning! lol The only thing I did differently was add some cut up scallions and season them with salt & pepper! Easy and delicious - it doesn't get better than that! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Deeeelicious!! I halved the recipe for 2 adults and 1 child and we have a little left for lunch tomorrow. I didn't have processed cheese so I used half cheddar and half mozzarella. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was really good. I made it for Easter and it all went. Am making it again tonite and am going to toss in some leftover ham...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
i would give this 6 stars. There wasn't any left. Everyone loved it. I added garlic and onion powder. this will become a staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Very good and pretty easy to make. Just added a little shredded cheddar cheese on top, other than that I follwed the recipe exactly. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States