Delish Coconut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
these are good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
They do taste like coconut and baked well in my silicone muffin tin. I liked the crispy outside texture, but didn't care for the softer inside. I also found them bland (like eating unsweetened coconut flakes) with a slight aftertaste from the rice flour. This morning I cut a muffin into three slices, added butter with a light sprinkling of cinnamon and sugar then toasted it in a toaster oven. I liked it much better that way. I doubt I'll use this recipe again, but if I do I might try using sweetened coconut flakes and maybe some mini chocolate chips to add a bit of sweetness and hide the rice flour aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Very easy to make but not very tasty. I added a bit of vanilla and brown sugar to the mix and put some butter mixed with more brown sugar and cinnomon on top of them and that made them much better. But an over all blah recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
These muffins are dense and crisp on the outside moist and soft on the inside. I prepared them just as the original recipe reads- the flavor is a very delicate coconut taste- delicious. I pureed some of the raspberries we just picked and my children used that as a dipping sauce they LOVED this as a mid morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
My kids and husband have been declaring these "the best muffins ever." I do admit we are a healthy household, i usually make whole wheat no sugar added kinds of things, and we don't like super sweet food. Given that background, we love these, they are soft inside, crunchy outside, and a good snack size when mini. I think they're just sweet enough but this is what I did: I used brown rice flower instead of white and my coconut was sweetened, because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used glutinous rice flour as that was all I could find at the grocery store - I think it was the reason the muffin stuck to the wrapper. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on the muffins before baking. I also think that this muffin needs a bit of something else, but it is a great starter recipe, especially for those with allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My family didn't really like them. When they came out of the oven they are kinda crunchy on the outside, which was nice, but basically tasteless. They aren't really sweet. I sprinkled the tops with sugar which was optional; that made it a lot better. I am a baker at heart and I am just getting into vegan baking. This was actually my first vegan baking recipe. Sorry…won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Overall - a tasty alternative to those avoiding wheat/canola oil in their cooking. We have cut out processed wheat in our diet as it packs on the pounds and try to limit our sugar intake, so baking a treat becomes a challenge. Coconut oil (in coconut milk) is a good fat that burns bad fat, so this makes this a bonus for baking! We did use sweetened coconut (on hand and needed to be used up), decreased salt to 1/2 tsp of salt and sprinkled on "whey low" - a natural sugar alternative that tastes like sugar, but low on glycemic index. Added 3 chocolate chips in about 1/4 of the mini muffin cups (YUM!) for an extra special treat. They slid right out of the silicone cups. I forgot they wouldn't rise, so I filled the cups 2/3 and they came out short, and may have even fallen. Next time I will fill the cups all the way. This recipe is a great base to start with, though good on its own. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I'm surprised how good they are for so little ingredients. I added a bit of baking soda to make them fluffier and some dried cranberries for sweetness (skipped the sugar). Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
It came out really dense and bland. I pretty much threw away the whole batch. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States