Delish Coconut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Sorry..this was not as tasty as some reviews are saying, they are however very easy to make and Gluten Free which is a great thing but even my husband (who is G.F. ) didn't like them enough to want me to make another batch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jba

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These turned out amazing!! I'm new to food allergies & what a great dairy & egg free recipe... super easy & delicious!! Thank You for Sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Once again I loved something my family did not. Everyone thought it needed more sugar. I did change some things. I used 3/4 cups rice milk because I did have any coconut milk. I also added 1/2 cup apple sauce and I only used 1 cup coconut flakes. I liked them though and will make them again just for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These where very good. As I had only unsweetened coconut milk I had to add sugar (100g) to it. Did not top with sugar, but they turned out good and sweet enough for my sweet-tooth DH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I am not the best of bakers at the best of times so considering these only have a handful of (allergy free) ingredients i thought they were pretty good. I did alter the ingredients as well based on on some of of the other reviews. I did half and half sweetened/unsweetened coconut and used only 1/2 cup of white rice flour and the rest in brown (because i ran out of white). THey do come out with a lovely coconutty taste not too sweet but just enough sweetness to satisfy my sugar craving. The downside is that they turn out looking like little mini hockey pucks. I would add an egg and some bakign soda next time to get them to rise. definately a recipe i'll try again in an attempt to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Disappointing. The inside were glue-like (calling that "moist" is a stretch). The only flavor "hit" arrives when you chew on a piece of the shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
It came out really dense and bland. I pretty much threw away the whole batch. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I'm surprised how good they are for so little ingredients. I added a bit of baking soda to make them fluffier and some dried cranberries for sweetness (skipped the sugar). Love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Overall - a tasty alternative to those avoiding wheat/canola oil in their cooking. We have cut out processed wheat in our diet as it packs on the pounds and try to limit our sugar intake, so baking a treat becomes a challenge. Coconut oil (in coconut milk) is a good fat that burns bad fat, so this makes this a bonus for baking! We did use sweetened coconut (on hand and needed to be used up), decreased salt to 1/2 tsp of salt and sprinkled on "whey low" - a natural sugar alternative that tastes like sugar, but low on glycemic index. Added 3 chocolate chips in about 1/4 of the mini muffin cups (YUM!) for an extra special treat. They slid right out of the silicone cups. I forgot they wouldn't rise, so I filled the cups 2/3 and they came out short, and may have even fallen. Next time I will fill the cups all the way. This recipe is a great base to start with, though good on its own. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My family didn't really like them. When they came out of the oven they are kinda crunchy on the outside, which was nice, but basically tasteless. They aren't really sweet. I sprinkled the tops with sugar which was optional; that made it a lot better. I am a baker at heart and I am just getting into vegan baking. This was actually my first vegan baking recipe. Sorry…won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States