Delish Coconut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I made this recipe with chocolate chips. The muffins tasted good. But, were to dense. I am going to try using a teaspoon of baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe as written, but these did not work. Baked 15 minutes extra and they were still raw in the middle. The batter was very runny so I suspected they wouldn't bake well, and they did not. Would love to know how the positive reviewers got a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Despite a few other negative reviews, I was hopeful these would turn out okay. The muffins were very bland - even though I included cinnamon and vanilla to try and increase the flavor. The muffins ended up sticking badly to the muffin pan and came "out" looking like little dough balls. I baked them almost twice as long as the recommended time and they still did not cook all the way through. Overall, very disappointed with this recipe and will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Ok... I noticed that there was no baking powder or baking soda in this recipe and I was wondering how this was going to work out. These really can't be called "muffins" at all. They have the texture of a macaroon or lemon bar. I added lemon zest and flavoring to mine and while they are tasty, they are NOT muffins. I may make them again and add the baking soda/powder to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Interesting texture... This recipe makes 18 regular-sized muffins. Even with 1/2 tsp. baking soda added the muffins didn't rise. I filled the muffin cups 1/2 full and they were the same size after baking and kind of doughy in the middle. I added some minced chocolate chips to the batter for a bit more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very good, perfect as mini muffins. Great for dairy and wheat-free diets and easy to make vegan. Would recommend the sprinkling of sugar for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I love coconut so these were very very disappointing. I even followed the recipe as written. Filled the muffin pan all the way up (as reviews stated) and they still sunk down to be little more than 1/2 their original size. They tasted kind of OK the first day but got chewier as time passed. They were like chewing fruit snacks but with unappealing texture (because of the coconut). MWon't be making these ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
My family loves coconut, but I don't make many coconut recipes because coconut and coconut milk have sooooo much saturated fat. This recipe caught my eye though. I hadn't used rice flour before. I was impressed with the result. It is almost savory. They stayed moist for the few days they lasted. The batter filled the minimuffin pan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Cooked them a lot longer than suggested and still was like raw batter in the middle. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I wish I could say something positive about these muffins. Coconut is one of the family favourites but these miss the mark. Not very flavourful. Texture much too dense and heavy. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States