Delilah's Frosted Cut-Out Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lolalita
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
*Note: I'm only reviewing the icing/frosting." I've made the frosting by following instructions and it took forever to finally set. When it finally did set enough, it didn't harden as I thought it would. It would not stand room temperature and it had to be refrigerated the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made the frosting exactly as its explained here and it looks that it takes for ever to dry out completely!- is still all mussy at the center-. I needed to be able to stack the cookies to put them in a box and I am getting really afraid because I am not seeing this working out! I am going to wait and leave them to dry overnight, if they don't I am going to be super pissed for have chosen this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I used the frosting recipe for the cookie to frost some other valentine cookies I made! Delicious! Perfect! It was the right consistency and dried hard. I painted the frosting on with a barque brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great recipe. Followed as directed and everything was perfect! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The best frosted sugar cookie. My girls and I have been making them for years now. I tried another recipe from this website with slightly higher reviews and was disappointed. I make 4 times the frosting, add food coloring, place frosting in a piping bags and we get creative. Time consuming but worth the memories at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've finally found the perfect sugar cookie recipe (well, with some modifications -- thank you, helpmecook82). These cookies taste great, have a wonderfully soft texture, and retain their shape (they do not blow up and lose their shape like other cookie cut-out recipes). Also, the icing is perfect! It tastes great and hardens so that you can actually stack the cookies on top of each other (you do need to wait a few hours for it to harden). The modifications I did were that I used 3 cups of flour, instead of 2 1/2, I used 1/2 teaspoon salt instead of a full teaspoon, and I used 3/4 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I also let the dough sit overnight in the refrigerator because otherwise I found it to be too sticky to work with. When the time came to roll out the dough, I found the dough to be extremely easy to work with. I baked the cookies at 350 for 9 minutes. They were still a little soft when I took them out. When I frosted them, I simply used a pastry brush and "painted" the icing on the cookies. It was super easy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah1015

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe was a hit for Christmas. Even my dad who doesn't like cutouts loved them. And my grandpa and brother who are very picky raved about them as well. (Apparently the men in my life are hard to please.) The only change I made was instead of using vanilla extract for the frosting, I used almond extract. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Cabaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
this frosting recipe is the best on I've eve made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marci
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
IF YOUR SEARCHING FOR THE PERFECT SUGAR COOKIES STOP LOOKINGGHH!!!!! these are amazing ! I'm so picky about my cookies and these had crisp edges with a chewy inside! YUM I did only use 2 cups of flour in the dough and it was perfect :))) and I didn't try the icing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These cookies aren't too bad. I made another batch, "Thick Cut Out Cookies" from this site, and I prefer them as they aren't as sweet as these cookies. Don't get me wrong, these cookies taste good, just my preference! This dough was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States