Delilah's Frosted Cut-Out Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Yum! These cookies a fabulous. Not only is the dough wonderful to work with, the frosting really does dry hard so you can plate them in layers and they do NOT stick together because of the frosting! I am very pleased with these. I just made footballs with brown frosting and white laces for Superbowl Sunday! When you bite into these, the outside is crisp and they are extremely soft and almost cakelike on the inside. Really, really great recipe! I did add a little imitation butter flavor and a bit more milk to the frosting to get it to the consistency I wanted. Glad I found this one! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas Cook
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
FANTASTIC recipe! Yes, the dough is somewhat delicate to work with but I had no problems, and I only refrigerated the dough for an hour. Use plenty of flour on your board, and you can softly brush off the excess with a basting brush. Just flatten the dough with your hands a little, and gently roll over it a few times. (Make sure you don't roll too thin) Something I feel makes these cookies so good is the butter flavored SHORTENING. Those who use real butter are not going to get the same results in texture, and it's not really fair to judge a recipe poorly if you change a main ingredient. Butter and shortening don't bake the same. These cookies baked wonderfully, tasted terrific and were easy to make. The texture is perfect, not too soft yet not crunchy. The frosting is delicious as well. Another tip- Use parchment paper and your cookies won't burn on the bottom (or brown much at all for that matter). I never make cookies with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I really liked this recipe. The only thing though, is I put mine in the freezer for 3 hours and it STILL wasn't firm enough to work with. Once it was, I pulled off a small hunk and rolled out 1 dozen, while keeping the rest in the freezer. Make sure your surface is well floured, as well as the butterknife or whatever you use to scrape it up to put it on the cookie sheet. The cookies held their shape well and taste good, nice and soft. Oh also don't chill your dough in the mixing bowl, scoop it out onto a sheet of plastic wrap and press into a disc shape, so it chills evenly and is easy to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
These are without a doubt the best sugar cookies I have ever had. The same recipe my Grandma made and the ones that I have made for 20 years now. Crispy on outside, cakey inside. I leave out the milk and use 1/2 butter instead of all shortening. I also use a butter frosting (powdered sugar, milk, vanilla and butter). Outstanding!!! People always want the recipe. Also, I would suggest chilling AT LEAST 2 hours - much easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I thought the dough was too sticky; I had to keep adding flour. That made the cookies taste a bit floury, but it wasn't horrible. I found a better recipe that I could do with kids (less sticky and great texture): Soft Christmas Cookies by Georgie Bowers. I also liked the Sugar Cookie Icing by Janice Brubaker. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
The cookies were OK, but I will keep looking for my favorite sugar cookie recipe. There is too much baking powder in the recipe - the cookies rise "too much" and detail in the cookie is lost when baked. Also too much baking powder taste. I also found the dough very soft from the refrigerator (although chilled overnight) so difficult to remove from pastry cloth without using a lot of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This was a great sugar cookie! The dough was very easy to work with. I only refrigerated it for about 15 minutes and it worked just fine. I added a little lemon flavor to the icing and a touch more milk so I could dip the cookies rather than spread the icing on and it was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
I didn't get a chance to frost these cookies they were eaten so quickly. I quickly scanned the recipe and used regular crisco instead of butter flavored, and they were still excellent. I'm making them again today and will be using the butter flavored this time. I also didn't roll them, I chilled them in the freezer for about 20 minutes, dropped them onto a cookie sheet and flattened them with my hand a little. I seriously don't think anyone could make a bad cookie with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is so awesome!!! I have 4 children from the ages of 5yrs. to 11 yrs and they loved every minute making these. I've searched for the perfect sugar cookie to decorate and I finally found it along with the most perfect icing. The cookies were soft in the middle and very delicious. Thank you so much Delilah for sharing your recipe. I will past this down to my children for their children some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRindell
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
So fun and easy to make... just don't forget that you need an hour to chill the dough. (not a good last-minute recipe to make for company if you don't have the time). I used butter instead of butter flavored shortening and like another user said, used extra flour on my countertop, hands and rolling pin when rolling them out because they're pretty sticky. Didn't affect the taste at all though-- they tasted great and my 4-year-old niece loved making them into little bunnies for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States