Delilah's Frosted Cut-Out Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The cookies turned out great but I couldn't get the frosting to the right consistency at all. Will use the sugar cookie recipe again but not the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
The cookies were easy to make and they rolled out well after refrigeration. My kids thought they weren't sweet enough without frosting. So if you plan on topping with only sprinkles, you might need a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I just used this recipe for the frosting, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This cookie recipe is better than grandma's ,its so easy to make and the taste is awesome. The only thing I changed is I used 1/2 tsp lemon extract instead of vanilla. It gave it that little extra yum! My husband is the cookie expert and thought they were the BEST he ever had. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Sorry but the dough was way too sticky to work with even after leaving in the refrigerator for more than an hour. I ended up having to add more flour but after that the cookies tasted like flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These cookies were absolutely fantastic. They are definitely the best sugar cookies I've ever had and the frosting worked perfectly with them. The only word of advice I have is to make sure the centers don't look wet when you take them out of the oven. I cooked them for ten minutes and took them out when the centers looks wet assuming they would be fine and both my daughter and I felt very sick after eating one. Don't make the same mistake I did, leave them in until the centers look cooked! Other than my mistake these were absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justmisskasik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this cookie exactly as the recipe called for. The dough would have been hard to roll out, as some other reviewers said, except that I rolled it between two sheets of parchment paper, and that helped. But it was very difficult to lift the dough up off the paper onto the cookie sheet because the dough was so soft and flimsy. I would have just placed the parchment paper, cookies and all, onto the cookie sheet, except that I had cut the cookies too close together. As a result, the cookies got stretched out of shape somewhat in the transfer, and some actually tore apart. I will say that the cookies held their shape (such as it was) during baking more than some other recipes I have tried. I also agree with some other reviewers that the cookies were a little bland, but I actually prefer a less sweet cookie, so I thought these tasted pretty good. The icing did not work out for me the way the recipe is written. It took lots more milk to get the right consistency, but other than that, the icing was a winner. It even worked to glue back together a broken cookie. It baffles me how we can all try the same recipe and our experiences turn out so differently, but mine was such that I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My grandson and I made these cookies one afternoon and I have to say this is a wonderfully flavorful recipe. Except for the fact that I used butter instead of butter-flavored shortening (it was all I had on hand), I made the recipe as written. The dough rolled out beautifully and kept its shape during baking. ( Although I found that 400 degrees in my oven browned the edges a little too much so I reduced the temp to 375.) I made two batches of frosting - one using vanilla extract and one using almond extract. It was the perfect consistency and hardened perfectly. I'm adding this recipe to my permanent collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These cookies were easy, fast, and fun! The 3 things a mother would want! We made these cookies with grown up's and kid's and we all loved it!! They taste delicious, we ended up making the frosting with lemon juice and it tasted delicious!! We loved the frosting recipe, it tasted very good and was super simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I was looking forward to making cut out cookies with my girls. A bit disappointed in the recipe, it was not at all easy to roll out. I am rolling them out myself very delicately. I hope i can enjoy the frosting part with my girls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States