Delilah's Frosted Cut-Out Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Sorry but the dough was way too sticky to work with even after leaving in the refrigerator for more than an hour. I ended up having to add more flour but after that the cookies tasted like flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These cookies were absolutely fantastic. They are definitely the best sugar cookies I've ever had and the frosting worked perfectly with them. The only word of advice I have is to make sure the centers don't look wet when you take them out of the oven. I cooked them for ten minutes and took them out when the centers looks wet assuming they would be fine and both my daughter and I felt very sick after eating one. Don't make the same mistake I did, leave them in until the centers look cooked! Other than my mistake these were absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justmisskasik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this cookie exactly as the recipe called for. The dough would have been hard to roll out, as some other reviewers said, except that I rolled it between two sheets of parchment paper, and that helped. But it was very difficult to lift the dough up off the paper onto the cookie sheet because the dough was so soft and flimsy. I would have just placed the parchment paper, cookies and all, onto the cookie sheet, except that I had cut the cookies too close together. As a result, the cookies got stretched out of shape somewhat in the transfer, and some actually tore apart. I will say that the cookies held their shape (such as it was) during baking more than some other recipes I have tried. I also agree with some other reviewers that the cookies were a little bland, but I actually prefer a less sweet cookie, so I thought these tasted pretty good. The icing did not work out for me the way the recipe is written. It took lots more milk to get the right consistency, but other than that, the icing was a winner. It even worked to glue back together a broken cookie. It baffles me how we can all try the same recipe and our experiences turn out so differently, but mine was such that I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My grandson and I made these cookies one afternoon and I have to say this is a wonderfully flavorful recipe. Except for the fact that I used butter instead of butter-flavored shortening (it was all I had on hand), I made the recipe as written. The dough rolled out beautifully and kept its shape during baking. ( Although I found that 400 degrees in my oven browned the edges a little too much so I reduced the temp to 375.) I made two batches of frosting - one using vanilla extract and one using almond extract. It was the perfect consistency and hardened perfectly. I'm adding this recipe to my permanent collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These cookies were easy, fast, and fun! The 3 things a mother would want! We made these cookies with grown up's and kid's and we all loved it!! They taste delicious, we ended up making the frosting with lemon juice and it tasted delicious!! We loved the frosting recipe, it tasted very good and was super simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I was looking forward to making cut out cookies with my girls. A bit disappointed in the recipe, it was not at all easy to roll out. I am rolling them out myself very delicately. I hope i can enjoy the frosting part with my girls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
OK, so i followed the recipe to a T, the dough was awful to work with. It kept cracking and just took so much extra effort to try to get a cookie shape. Any suggestions? The cookie has very little flavor, havent frosted them yet. Frankly i dont know if i want to put any more energy into these. Maybe all the flavor is up the the icing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I didn't make the cookies but was looking for a good icing recipe & this one is great!! The only problem is that our gingerbread cookies with this icing are so good we can't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ObsessedWithEverything

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I only made the icing (used it for a gingerbread man recipe). I had to add more milk than it called for. Added 1/2 tsp of almond oil. Delicious and easy to work with! Piped it out of a baggie where I cut a tiny tip off the corner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I premade these cookies in the shape of dog bones for my daughter's Scooby Doo birthday party (scooby snacks) and am going to let the kids decorate them at the party. However, I have to make more because we all keep snacking on them. Great flavor, even without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States