Delilah's Frosted Cut-Out Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made bra cookies for my office's breast cancer fundraiser, and everyone raved! My low carb version was the favorite. I replaced half the sugar with the sweet'n'low equivalent. It's time to make Christmas cookies now, and this recipe is my instant go-to! Parchment paper is a must as well. The cookies brown lightly on the bottom if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I make these every year for Christmas and everyone waits for them! I also add orange extract to the icing. I also made these for a fundraiser for breast cancer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
found this dough sticky to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I didn't make the cookies as I use King Arthur Flour sugar cookie recipe. The icing is great! It hardens and allows for perfect plating. I melted the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This review is just for the cookies, I've never been a big fan of the hard frosting, but the cookies were amazing!! Very firm, but still soft! They do puff up a bit, so if you're using a more intricate cookie cutter, you may lose some of the details, but this wasn't an issue for me since I used a basic star shaped cutout. These are wonderful, from now on this is my go-to sugar cookie recipe!!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
DO NOT OVERBAKE THESE COOKIES. Bake them only until just done--8 minutes is way too much. Even getting slightly golden on the bottom or edges changes the taste and texture. Start with 6 minutes and then go from there. I thought they could have used a bit more flavor, but the ones that were barely baked had a much better texture--these cookies are all about texture, not flavor. Working with them was okay--if you refrigerate them and then roll the dough between sheets of waxed paper and freeze them for a couple of minutes, it is extremely easy to work with and scraps can be rerolled without getting too floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Great for cutouts. Frosting helps to add flavor. A go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I thought these were fantastic. I'm really not a huge fan of sugar cookies, but these were tasty and I thought the dough was really easy to work with. I refridgerated them for exactly one hour and followed the recipe exactly. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Merolla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Excellent! The only changes I made were to use regular shortening, not butter-flavored, because that's all I had, and I added much more milk to the frosting because mine was extra powdery. It's so nice to find a cookie and frosting recipe that's easy AND tasty! I'm looking forward to making them many more times, and hopefully I'll have the butter-flavored shortening on hand. A must-try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookTo$ave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Perfect Cut Out Cookie Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by likestobake

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States