Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
delicious -- especially second day, when flavors have married.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Made this last night-added chickpeas and it was awesome! I cooked it for 3 hours on high and served it with rice. Can't wait to eat it again today for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Delicious !! No leftovers with this one. Even my picky son ate two servings. Thx for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very good! I added a head of cauliflower too just because I had it and used one can of lite coconut milk then half a can of regular coconut milk (again, what I had laying around). Also added some cashews with the carrots as well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Love this recipe! I'm always searching for great slow cooker recipes, and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Sooooo good! I added chickpeas like someone else suggested and doubled the recipe. I used 1 can of coconut cream and 1 can of coconut milk. Would be excellent on rice. I took it to a potluck and a man who grew up in India said he liked it! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Needs some tweaking, but it's a great dish. I served over rice. It's quite spicy for my tastes but my boyfriend (who handles spicy food well) didn't have a problem. Here are the changes I made: 1. Used light coconut milk instead of coconut cream to make healthier 2. Used a whole 10 oz bag of carrots, didn't measure 3. Substituted 1 can chickpeas for 1 potato 4. Added some cauliflower (should prob be added with the carrots). 5. Added 1/2 an onion at the beginning Additional changes I want to make next time: 1. Add an extra can of chickpeas for protein 2. Add a handful of peanuts or cashews at the beginning With these adjustments - an awesome recipe! Delish!! Hint - spices will be cheaper at an Indian grocery store or in the international section of the reg grocery instead of with the normal spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this today and it is delicious! The coconut cream sweetens the curry, which is nice. I used Yukon gold potatoes and didn't peel them, just scrubbed and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Best Indian curry I've ever had... with a few changes. Like another reviewer recommended, I substituted 1 medium white onion diced and a teaspoon of salt for the package of dry onion soup mix. I also used three whole carrots, cut on a diagonal, instead of the matchstick carrots. I also cut the red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper by half, to 1/4 teaspoon each, which was the perfect amount of heat. I used coconut milk because I live in small town with no ethnic markets, and couldn't find coconut cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 cup of raw cashews. I put everything in the crock pot, and added an extra 1/2 cup of water, gave it a stir and cooked on low for 3 1/2 hours (didn't need to check and add water at all). I then tossed in 1/2 cup of frozen peas, and cooked with the peas for another 1/2 hour. Served with basmati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very Yummy! It is true this recipe will be only as good as your curry powder, don't skimp on this. I followed other reviewers recommendations and used a fresh onion with a teaspoon of salt and a clove of garlic. No coconut cream on hand so I used coconut milk. I cooked this whole deal in the oven in my dutch oven. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States