Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I dropped 2 stars for these reasons: 1. Using powdered onion soup. This is a form of processed food which is really unhealthy, and can be replaced with one onion and 1 tsp. of salt. 2. I love my slow cooker because of its ease and convenience - when all ingredients can be put into the cooker at the same time. I find it excruciatingly annoying to have to go back every half hour and add something else (therefore making it ultimately pointless). I did try this recipe putting everything in at once - and it was a truly good dish (on rice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
delicious -- especially second day, when flavors have married.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Made this last night-added chickpeas and it was awesome! I cooked it for 3 hours on high and served it with rice. Can't wait to eat it again today for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a good easy soup. I substituted organic vegetable broth and fresh chopped onion for the onion soup mix, and added some fresh grated coconut.Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin959

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Delicious !! No leftovers with this one. Even my picky son ate two servings. Thx for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very good! I added a head of cauliflower too just because I had it and used one can of lite coconut milk then half a can of regular coconut milk (again, what I had laying around). Also added some cashews with the carrots as well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Love this recipe! I'm always searching for great slow cooker recipes, and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.. I am a very experienced cook, and I cook mostly ethnic dishes (african, middle eastern, asian, etc), so this was right up my ally - so I thought. I followed the recipe exactly, adding chickpeas, and after 5 hours of cooking, it simply did not turn out. This is the only dish I've ever came across that can't be tweaked to make it any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was fairly bland. It needs something with deeper flavor, but I'm not sure what it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Lovely combination of sweet and spicy! Four stars only because some of the ingredients weren't available as described at my grocery store. I made a few alterations: My dad hates coconut, so to tone down the flavor I used coconut water instead of coconut milk, and added a tablespoon or two of cream of coconut to enhance the flavor. Both from Goya. Also, I could not find onion soup mix, so I used two onion bouillon cubes instead. I think next time I will use fresh onion and garlic with a dash of salt. I added peas as well. Finally, I opted to try the carnivore version of this dish. I used sirloin tip steak and followed the authors preparation notes (fewer potatoes and lightly frying meat first). It turned out very tender and flavorful. We ate this over rice. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States