Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I read a lot of the reviews before I chose to make this for my bookclub. I was a bit concerned due to several comments saying it was "tasteless." Those cooks needed to add salt at the end - an ingredient that I believe was left out of the recipe. Once you salt it enough, it has a great flavor with a lot of heat. I also recommend adding garlic and real chopped onions to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This one wasn't bad. Took off a star just because it took about twice as long to cook as the recipe stated. Made for some vegetarian friends the other night and was a big hit. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
it was delicious! I boiled some broccoli on the side and threw them in a few minutes before the curry was done. It was amazing!! I also added slices of onions that I sauteed with olive oil and threw that in the curry at the end. I added some soysauce and definitely ate this with some jasmine steam rice :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this today and it is delicious! The coconut cream sweetens the curry, which is nice. I used Yukon gold potatoes and didn't peel them, just scrubbed and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Needs some tweaking, but it's a great dish. I served over rice. It's quite spicy for my tastes but my boyfriend (who handles spicy food well) didn't have a problem. Here are the changes I made: 1. Used light coconut milk instead of coconut cream to make healthier 2. Used a whole 10 oz bag of carrots, didn't measure 3. Substituted 1 can chickpeas for 1 potato 4. Added some cauliflower (should prob be added with the carrots). 5. Added 1/2 an onion at the beginning Additional changes I want to make next time: 1. Add an extra can of chickpeas for protein 2. Add a handful of peanuts or cashews at the beginning With these adjustments - an awesome recipe! Delish!! Hint - spices will be cheaper at an Indian grocery store or in the international section of the reg grocery instead of with the normal spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I found that this didn't have as much of a coconut taste that I would have liked. Although it had a nice "kick" to the spice, they all tasted a little bland and earthy. I have a much better curry recipe, that I use sweet potatoes and actual onions. I did ADD tofu and hard boiled eggs to this dish (tofu while it was cooking, and the eggs towards the end) I wish I could give a 1/2 star because I would rate it 2.5 out of 5. Not horrible by any means, but probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Sooooo good! I added chickpeas like someone else suggested and doubled the recipe. I used 1 can of coconut cream and 1 can of coconut milk. Would be excellent on rice. I took it to a potluck and a man who grew up in India said he liked it! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This is one of those recipes that only tastes as good as your spices. Specifically, your curry powder. I used Spice Islands curry powder for the first time and overall the dish just tastes nondescriptly spicy with kind of a curry flavor. Looks like I need to find another curry powder! It still tastes good though and physically it turned out beautiful. My method was a bit different. Dumped everything in the pot (only change was to cut back on the peppers and use a can of coconut MILK rather than CREAM since coconut cream is that super thick, super duper sweet stuff you use in cocktail drinks and find in the liquor store) including 1/2 cup of water and the carrots (I like my carrots cooked through and they would not have been if I put them in near the end), stirred it up, set it to low and came back 5 hours later to a lovely looking curry in a rich sauce. All I had to do was add some salt and it was ready to pour over rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe. Had to make some changes though...I had to add water to make sure potatoes cooked right, then took some of the curry sauce and mixed it with thickening flour and transferred it back to crockpot. Made the sauce much thicker and creamier. Also, don't forget to add salt, there is none in this recipe. Had to add more curry too. I added garbanzo beans also for extra protein which was a nice touch. Did not use onion soup but rather used onions instead. Good easy simple recipe. You could take this base recipe and add whatever you wanted.... A go-to recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I love curry, I just didn't like this and won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States