Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Too Spicy!!! 1/4 cup of Curry Powder was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
In this recipe I replaced the potatoes with one large yam. After having read others' alterations, I added a can of chickpeas, chopped onion and vegi broth instead of onion soup mix, coconut milk instead of cream, 3 cloves of garlic, salt & pepper. I also added a pound of vegi ground 'meat', which I had briefly fried and spiced up with a bit of chili powder and salt, chopped almonds, and a handful chopped raisins, and topped it all with lots of chopped parsley at the very end because I don't like cilantro. I used less chili and more good indian curry powder. Other than sauteeing the onions, garlic and ginger, everything went directly into the slow cooker. Served over white rice. Very good, --- and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made a lot of modifications that I saw in other reviews--adding everything together at the same time, using onions and water instead of onion soup mix, cutting down the potatoes (only used 4 small ones), adding chickpeas (1 can), and adding salt and pepper which I don't see in her recipe. I'm not a big fan of salty food, but this recipe needs A LOT otherwise it's really bland. It was really, REALLY good with the modifications that I made above. I gave the recipe 3 stars because of all of the modifications needed. It also took longer to cook--at least 4 hours on high in my crockpot so keep that in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Just o-k. It would need a lot of "tweaks" to make it yummy. I've made many a superior curry this will not be joining my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Easy and Delicious!!!! I added cubed skinless chicken breast and fresh cubed pineapples. I also just added everything to the crockpot at once, not par-cooking the chicken first. I also used the low fat coconut milk (not a creamy, but does the trick for less calories). I cooked on HIGH for 4 hours and it turned out great! I also added FRESH onions, not onion mix, as it is always better to do a natural veggie substitute. *Note: Goes great over brown or Jasmine rice cooked w/ cloves & peas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This is real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikedlove
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is a solid dish -- worked well served over rice when my spice-loving vegetarian friends came over. I used a fresh onion instead of the powder, plus I added half a teaspoon of cumin. I also poured 1/3 to 1/2 a can of water in the slow cooker as the meal started cooking so I didn't have to worry about it drying out. Chopped cilantro was the perfect garnish -- really rounded out the flavor! If I do it again, I might add more of a variety of veggies, or perhaps some tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The peas are not optional for this in my home, as they make the dish, IMHO. I was surprised by how much I valued having cut the carrots in a match stick fashion! The texture was perfect, though I guess I should admit that I did add extra coconut milk (used milk, not cream). The directions for this recipe are clear and were easy to follow, however, I need helping coming up with an alternative to store bought curry powder, which is going to be important for me to finally really love this dish. I'll be trying some other 'curry' spices in time, or at least, I hope so, as I did almost thoroughly enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Very Yummy! It is true this recipe will be only as good as your curry powder, don't skimp on this. I followed other reviewers recommendations and used a fresh onion with a teaspoon of salt and a clove of garlic. No coconut cream on hand so I used coconut milk. I cooked this whole deal in the oven in my dutch oven. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I love this recipe and make it frequently. I like to use half russet potatoes and half sweet potatoes, and a diced onion rather than the onion soup mix. I also add chickpeas. I'm lazy, so I add it all at one time, and let it cook all day, and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States