Delightful Indian Coconut Vegetarian Curry in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was the first time I had made ANY TYPE of curry, so it was a little scary for me...lol! But it turned out so good! I will be making it again! I did read the changes that others had submitted and decided to do a little bit of everything. I added peas, chickpeas, more curry, only one can of coconut milk and skipped the red pepper flakes. I did take some of the curry mixture and mixed with flour to thicken it up, but next time I will probably skip that step or use an extra can of coconut milk. It was spicy just using the chili powder, curry and cayenne pepper. But I gave some to my friends (who love spicy food) and they LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Changed two ingredients: Used vegetable broth, fresh onions. Did not use green peas. Extended time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Use at most half of the curry, red pepper flakes and cayenne. I used half and it was still nearly inedible--I calmed it down to save it with an extra can of coconut milk and a few teaspoons of honey. Also added 2 cups of unsalted cashews and 2 cups of canned chickpeas--added them with the carrots and they were the perfect consistency. Threw some spinach in there also but did it too early and it vanished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My family and I liked this recipe. As I am a wimp when it comes to spicy food, this was a brave choice for me but I am glad that I did it. I did cut down on the cayenne pepper and didn't add red pepper flakes at all. Turned out perfect. Next time I make it though I will plug my crockpot in outside on our patio because the curry stank up my house for a few days afterward :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakarama
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I didn't use soup mix, just a quarter purple onion, and added sugar snap peas halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Pretty darn good, I must say. My first run at curry in a crock pot, and I only used 2 potatoes because I threw in a whole chicken to simmer. So the coconut milk was not enough for this amount of food, so I used 2 more cans to be able to cover the majority of the chicken (3 cans total of coconut milk). I also made a total of 1.5 times the spice mixture because of the extra food compared to baseline. I used the prior suggestino to use diced onion (used dry, not fresh), and then a sprinkle of garlic sauce. Tasted great. Threw a little bit of red dal in, and then cooked up some Pad Thai for the curry to be served upon. My 12 year old daughter really digged/dug it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was really tasty. Added 5 cloves of garlic and some shrimp, although any protein will do. Might try it again with tofu or chickpeas. Couldn't find onion soup mix so I used dehydrated onions. Next time I would just go ahead and use a whole onion and some veg broth instead of water if needed. Used light coconut milk and salted to taste. Got hungry so moved it to the stove to finish cooking. Opted against serving it with rice as it already had a lot of potatoes, but would be nice served with a garlic nan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Scaccio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was AMAZING! I mean, wow. Delicious. I ate on it all day today too! I was really nervous because of all the diverse flavors but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Too Spicy!!! 1/4 cup of Curry Powder was way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
In this recipe I replaced the potatoes with one large yam. After having read others' alterations, I added a can of chickpeas, chopped onion and vegi broth instead of onion soup mix, coconut milk instead of cream, 3 cloves of garlic, salt & pepper. I also added a pound of vegi ground 'meat', which I had briefly fried and spiced up with a bit of chili powder and salt, chopped almonds, and a handful chopped raisins, and topped it all with lots of chopped parsley at the very end because I don't like cilantro. I used less chili and more good indian curry powder. Other than sauteeing the onions, garlic and ginger, everything went directly into the slow cooker. Served over white rice. Very good, --- and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States