Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe once as it was written using chunky applesauce - very good! Made a couple notes of things to change up next time I made them - less butter/oil, less sugar, some whole wheat flour. Today I was looking for a recipe using specific ingredients and couldn't find what I wanted - so I ended up using this as my base recipe and tweaking it to add shredded zucchini and carrot - amazing! No matter how I make it, this recipe is definitely a favorite & a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These were good, but they are basically a spice cake and not a muffin. I used unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp of salt. I also used natural, no sugar, applesauce. I highly recommend that, considering these are plenty sweet. I got 12 total and they took 20 minutes to bake. They get a good oven spring, but will drop to a normal size as they cool. I would consider some type of cream cheese, spice, or similar type icing for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
amazingly moist.....I doubled the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing about the basic recipe however next time I will add some raisins or coconut or whatever....perhaps a few walnuts.....yum ! highly recommend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made these last night and loved them! Used light brown sugar instead of white sugar, replaced half the butter with apple sauce, replaced half the flour with whole wheat (would have done all whole wheat, but ran out!), added a small chopped & peeled pink lady apple. Used a tsp cinnamon, tsp nutmeg, & a half tsp apple pie spice. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Caruso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Sub'd half the butter for one apple. Made 12 muffins and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I followed the suggestions of other reviews and used all brown sugar, real butter, and half whole wheat flour. My husband requested that these have a streusel topping like coffee cake and it was a great idea and turned out well! For streusel: Mix 2 TBSP flour, 1/3 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and cut in 2 TBSP of butter. Sprinkle the mixture over each muffin before baking. Next time I will bake mine for one minute less as I have a hot oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I cut the sugar cut back by half and it was perfect for me. Other than that, it was fluffy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I used my homemade applesauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am confused...why rate the recipe 5 stars if you change it even a small amount? Some people almost substituted every item for their own. It becomes your recipe then, not hers. I made it exactly the way listed here and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Last Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
perfect for breakfast before school. i used cinnamon apple sauce and 1/4 vanilla extract and brown sugar. the cinnamon apple sauce compliments this recipe nicley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States