Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I reduced the amount of muffins to 4 since there are just two of us. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I changed the recipe somewhat. I made additions of chocolate chips ,raisins and walnuts. I also did not use margarine or eggs-just more of my homemade unsweetened applesauce. They were awesome. Today I am making them and using craisins in them as well--oh-used stevia as well. I figured about 55 calories per muffins when all the changes are considered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe once as it was written using chunky applesauce - very good! Made a couple notes of things to change up next time I made them - less butter/oil, less sugar, some whole wheat flour. Today I was looking for a recipe using specific ingredients and couldn't find what I wanted - so I ended up using this as my base recipe and tweaking it to add shredded zucchini and carrot - amazing! No matter how I make it, this recipe is definitely a favorite & a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These were good, but they are basically a spice cake and not a muffin. I used unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp of salt. I also used natural, no sugar, applesauce. I highly recommend that, considering these are plenty sweet. I got 12 total and they took 20 minutes to bake. They get a good oven spring, but will drop to a normal size as they cool. I would consider some type of cream cheese, spice, or similar type icing for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
amazingly moist.....I doubled the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing about the basic recipe however next time I will add some raisins or coconut or whatever....perhaps a few walnuts.....yum ! highly recommend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made these last night and loved them! Used light brown sugar instead of white sugar, replaced half the butter with apple sauce, replaced half the flour with whole wheat (would have done all whole wheat, but ran out!), added a small chopped & peeled pink lady apple. Used a tsp cinnamon, tsp nutmeg, & a half tsp apple pie spice. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Caruso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Sub'd half the butter for one apple. Made 12 muffins and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I followed the suggestions of other reviews and used all brown sugar, real butter, and half whole wheat flour. My husband requested that these have a streusel topping like coffee cake and it was a great idea and turned out well! For streusel: Mix 2 TBSP flour, 1/3 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and cut in 2 TBSP of butter. Sprinkle the mixture over each muffin before baking. Next time I will bake mine for one minute less as I have a hot oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I cut the sugar cut back by half and it was perfect for me. Other than that, it was fluffy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I used my homemade applesauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States