Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made these last night and loved them! Used light brown sugar instead of white sugar, replaced half the butter with apple sauce, replaced half the flour with whole wheat (would have done all whole wheat, but ran out!), added a small chopped & peeled pink lady apple. Used a tsp cinnamon, tsp nutmeg, & a half tsp apple pie spice. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Sub'd half the butter for one apple. Made 12 muffins and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I followed the suggestions of other reviews and used all brown sugar, real butter, and half whole wheat flour. My husband requested that these have a streusel topping like coffee cake and it was a great idea and turned out well! For streusel: Mix 2 TBSP flour, 1/3 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and cut in 2 TBSP of butter. Sprinkle the mixture over each muffin before baking. Next time I will bake mine for one minute less as I have a hot oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I prefer the sugar cut back by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I used my homemade applesauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am confused...why rate the recipe 5 stars if you change it even a small amount? Some people almost substituted every item for their own. It becomes your recipe then, not hers. I made it exactly the way listed here and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
perfect for breakfast before school. i used cinnamon apple sauce and 1/4 vanilla extract and brown sugar. the cinnamon apple sauce compliments this recipe nicley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I did use brown sugar and would again...however it needs a bit more flavor for my taste. I think I'll play around with the spices a bit...or even the type of applesauce that I use. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made as directed except that I added 1 small apple diced. They were good, but too moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These were very yummy! Next time I will make homemade applesauce to take it up a notch. I kept them in the fridge and they kept well for an entire week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States