Delightful Apple Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I made a few changes to make these a little healthier. I used 1/2 white wheat and 1/2 white flour. I cut the butter and sugar in 1/2 and substituted an extra 1/2 cup of applesauce plus about 1/3 cup honey. They were very moist and delicious! My kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I really like this recipe. It is virtually identical to "Applesauce Cake" in Joy of Cooking. In fact, this is not a muffin, but a cupcake as someone else has already mentioned. Easier to sSift together all dry ingredients. Add to egg/butter/sugar batter alternately with applesauce. (flour-applesauce-flour-applesauce-flour). Stir in 1 c chopped walnuts and fill 12 regular size muffin cups or one 8x8" baking dish (greased and floured). Bake 20 min. Nice with confectioners sugar sifted over once cooled. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Followed exactly and although easy to make did not find them high on the "spice" and "apple" flavor. I am thinking this is a personal preference. I did make them in a normal size cupcake tin so of course increased the cooking time exponentially (and watched them very closely).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Delicious! Great spice and flavor. The only changes I made were minor - butter instead of margarine, add a splash of vanilla, use a mix of AP/whole wheat flour and white/brown sugar. I just greased a muffin pan and these made 12 large muffins. The texture is very moist and light; actually next time I'll try only 1 tsp baking powder because I wanted them a little denser. But they just smell and taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I reduced the amount of muffins to 4 since there are just two of us. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I changed the recipe somewhat. I made additions of chocolate chips ,raisins and walnuts. I also did not use margarine or eggs-just more of my homemade unsweetened applesauce. They were awesome. Today I am making them and using craisins in them as well--oh-used stevia as well. I figured about 55 calories per muffins when all the changes are considered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe once as it was written using chunky applesauce - very good! Made a couple notes of things to change up next time I made them - less butter/oil, less sugar, some whole wheat flour. Today I was looking for a recipe using specific ingredients and couldn't find what I wanted - so I ended up using this as my base recipe and tweaking it to add shredded zucchini and carrot - amazing! No matter how I make it, this recipe is definitely a favorite & a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
These were good, but they are basically a spice cake and not a muffin. I used unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp of salt. I also used natural, no sugar, applesauce. I highly recommend that, considering these are plenty sweet. I got 12 total and they took 20 minutes to bake. They get a good oven spring, but will drop to a normal size as they cool. I would consider some type of cream cheese, spice, or similar type icing for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
amazingly moist.....I doubled the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing about the basic recipe however next time I will add some raisins or coconut or whatever....perhaps a few walnuts.....yum ! highly recommend this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Made these last night and loved them! Used light brown sugar instead of white sugar, replaced half the butter with apple sauce, replaced half the flour with whole wheat (would have done all whole wheat, but ran out!), added a small chopped & peeled pink lady apple. Used a tsp cinnamon, tsp nutmeg, & a half tsp apple pie spice. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Caruso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States