Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, Nuts, Seeds, Blueberries, and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Excellent salad! I made this for my mother's birthday and even my picky grandma raved about it. I found there was too much dressing when I tossed it. You could either cut down the dressing (ratio is 3:3:3), or add more lettuce (I reccommend more lettuce... that means more salad ;) ). This is an excellent and versatile recipe. Try it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
There was nothing spectacular about this recipe. We had a maple themed potluck at my work and I chose this recipe. Salad ingredients were fine--they dressing was fine, but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This salad is simply delicious. I've made it multiple times and it really is a great combination. Thanks very much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a really wonderful salad! A great way to get kids to eat lettuce. I made the following substitutions (using what I had): almond slices instead of walnuts, feta cheese doubled omitting the goat cheese, red instead of white balsamic vinegar, and canola oil instead of grapeseed. I didn't have sunflower seeds either, but I think that it was still fine because of the almonds. The dressing was awesome. I recommend mixing the dressing together first before pouring on the salad because you might find that you don't need the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Great recipe, but we found that the dressing was very "wet" on 3 romaine hearts!!! Next time I will scale the dressing down, and double up on both cheeses. I also added a sprinkling of cayenne pepper for some heat with the sweet. A really wonderful salad! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This dressing curdled in the fridge after around a week. It was horribly disappointing, especially considering the price of maple syrup. Make it in small quantities so it isn't in the fridge for more than a day. Or, skip the feta and use a drizzle of lemon juice as your only dressing. The salad combination is quite good. The dressing seems too sweet. Perhaps if the maple syrup were halved and some of the balsamic switched out for white vinegar I would like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
A great salad, great combination of flavors!!! I have made this exactly to recipe and it's 5 stars, I've made this by cutting down by 1/2 on the maple syrup and vinegar and still 5 stars! Hats off to Monica for a refreshing, delightful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
A fantastic combination of ingredients! I loved getting a bite with both the chewy cranberries and crunchy sunflower nuts. I used canola oil instead of grapeseed, but I wish I had used EVOO. I left out the goat cheese since I didn't have any. To help emulsify the dressing, I added a tsp. mayo and a tsp. dijon. Some fresh cracked pepper was also a nice addition to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A really fun salad! Such a nice change from the usual - and easy to make! Loved the dressing. A big hit on Valentine's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This salad is amazing. What makes it 5 stars is the dressing. I had to use olive oil because I didn't have grapeseed, but I don't think it detracted from it at all. The proportions are just right. And it works so well with the fruit and the tartness of the cheeses. This is definitely on the sweet side, but that's the way I like salads and dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States