Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, Nuts, Seeds, Blueberries, and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This salad is simply delicious. I've made it multiple times and it really is a great combination. Thanks very much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a really wonderful salad! A great way to get kids to eat lettuce. I made the following substitutions (using what I had): almond slices instead of walnuts, feta cheese doubled omitting the goat cheese, red instead of white balsamic vinegar, and canola oil instead of grapeseed. I didn't have sunflower seeds either, but I think that it was still fine because of the almonds. The dressing was awesome. I recommend mixing the dressing together first before pouring on the salad because you might find that you don't need the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Great recipe, but we found that the dressing was very "wet" on 3 romaine hearts!!! Next time I will scale the dressing down, and double up on both cheeses. I also added a sprinkling of cayenne pepper for some heat with the sweet. A really wonderful salad! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This dressing curdled in the fridge after around a week. It was horribly disappointing, especially considering the price of maple syrup. Make it in small quantities so it isn't in the fridge for more than a day. Or, skip the feta and use a drizzle of lemon juice as your only dressing. The salad combination is quite good. The dressing seems too sweet. Perhaps if the maple syrup were halved and some of the balsamic switched out for white vinegar I would like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
A great salad, great combination of flavors!!! I have made this exactly to recipe and it's 5 stars, I've made this by cutting down by 1/2 on the maple syrup and vinegar and still 5 stars! Hats off to Monica for a refreshing, delightful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
A fantastic combination of ingredients! I loved getting a bite with both the chewy cranberries and crunchy sunflower nuts. I used canola oil instead of grapeseed, but I wish I had used EVOO. I left out the goat cheese since I didn't have any. To help emulsify the dressing, I added a tsp. mayo and a tsp. dijon. Some fresh cracked pepper was also a nice addition to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A really fun salad! Such a nice change from the usual - and easy to make! Loved the dressing. A big hit on Valentine's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This salad is amazing. What makes it 5 stars is the dressing. I had to use olive oil because I didn't have grapeseed, but I don't think it detracted from it at all. The proportions are just right. And it works so well with the fruit and the tartness of the cheeses. This is definitely on the sweet side, but that's the way I like salads and dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this for a dinner party, and people could not stop telling me how delicious it was! For personal preference, I used almonds instead of walnuts, and used all feta cheese instead of a feta/goat cheese combination. I also added grape tomatoes and cut the oil slightly to 3 Tbsp, to make it slightly healthier. The dressing still tasted delicious, and was enough to cover two bags of romaine lettuce. Amazing - a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This has become my favorite salad dressing - and the better ingredients you use, the better it gets. This is my go-to-salad, it is absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States