Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, Nuts, Seeds, Blueberries, and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
We liked this very much, even the husband, who isn't very fond of vegetables in general and NEW ways of serving vegetables in particular. (He actually could not I.D. the blueberries at first--he was pushing them off to the side until I asked him about it--thought they were black olives!). I did make a few changes based on necessity. *Resized the recipe to 10 so that I could use up 1 entire bag of romaine (which if you're curious, yields 8 cups of lettuce if you dont squish it down). *Used dried mixed berries instead of just dried cranberries. *Used less blueberries than called for and extra dried berries--this was a choice based on price, because I used fresh. I think I COULD have bought frozen blueberries, thawed & drained them though, because I don't really care if they stain my salad blue. *Used all low-fat feta & no goat cheese. None of the above changes make any real difference overall. Except maybe the feta or sunflower seeds--you need one or both of those to cut the sweetness. The real changes I made were in the dressing. *Used RED balsamic vinegar instead of WHITE because it's what I had. *Used pancake syrup instead of real maple because it's what I had. *Used olive oil instead of grapeseed oil because I couldn't find it at the grocery store. ~It was still tasty even with these substitutions. I mixed my dressing separately from my salad because the salad gets re-bagged and eaten all week and you can't do that with dressing all over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have made this a few times now, but forgot to review. A couple of times I did not have the goat cheese or Feta and I made anyway. I used Monterey Jack instead. Was still excellent! Thank you, Monica, for a fresh, unique,and light salad that pairs well with almost any meat and vegetables or as a terrific lunch. Pretty presentation too, for company, if you get plenty of the dark green Romaine too, in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. The only changes I made, and they didn't really alter the recipe, were that I used raspberries instead of blueberries b/c I don't really care for blueberries, and I didn't use goat cheese but I did use the feta. Oh, and I used pecans instead of walnuts. I did follow the dressing recipe exactly. I really do think the grapeseed oil makes a difference, if you can find it. It's not as strong of a flavor as olive oil. And use real maple syrup if you can too. I'm sure it would still be good with substitutions but definitely best if you follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Loved it! Used regular balsamic (had it), pancake syrup (had it), olive oil (you guessed it) & dressing was fantastic! Only thing I might do next time that would improve an already faultless salad might be to lightly toast the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Yummmy!! A crowd favorite at the bbq, so easy and quick. I used all ingredients, except traded pecans for walnuts. The dressing is simple but fantastic, try it the way it's listed. I bought extra ingredients, and made it a second day, added chopped cooked chicken breast, and had a wonderful salad for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I have been looking for fantastic vinaigrette for a goat cheese salad and this one is it!! Absolutely delicious, and so easy too; an unexpected bonus. Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This dressing curdled in the fridge after around a week. It was horribly disappointing, especially considering the price of maple syrup. Make it in small quantities so it isn't in the fridge for more than a day. Or, skip the feta and use a drizzle of lemon juice as your only dressing. The salad combination is quite good. The dressing seems too sweet. Perhaps if the maple syrup were halved and some of the balsamic switched out for white vinegar I would like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was sensational! I didn't have any sunflower seeds. I used olive oil instead of grapeseed. This was sweet but not overly so as the balsamic vinegar balances it out. My husband wouldn't even try it, he said, "it smells like vinegar". I loved this salad. Thanks, this was simply divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Best and the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow - incredible dressing! I scaled this recipe down for 2 of us tonight and now I wish I would have made all of the dressing... Excellent, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States