Deliciously Healthy Paleo Pancakes With Banana and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My kids wanted pancakes as a bedtime snack, so I wanted a healthier version. This was perfect. My six year old made the batter (we halved it, but it still made more than a dozen pancakes) and we added about 1/2 cup of oats to help it hold together. I didn't have walnuts, but we added blueberries. I do agree that cooking longer on a lower heat is the way to go. The first batch fell apart, but the rest came out perfect once I adjusted the heat. We loved them and we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is great! I was looking for a paleo version for myself but my two toddlers and hubby love it too. It has no sugars which I am conscious of when cooking/baking for my kids. The only changes I made were to cut back a bit on the vanilla extract. I thought it was too much for my taste the first time I made it. I also add a few tablespoons of almond meal. I followed a tip from another reviewer to make them small so they're easier to flip. Also, cook them for longer than regular pancakes. It's in our regular rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These are awesome! I added both the cinnamon and walnuts to the batter. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These were amazing. I added chocolate chips to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Excellent. Made these for my wife who doesn't like pancakes and she loved these. Made with a blueberry compote and will defiantly be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made these this morning, just how it is written and they were great. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I really liked this recipe! They are easier to flip if they are small :) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe! Was skeptical at first, but they were so tasty and sweetened themselves from the banana alone! My two girls (8) LOVED them. Even my husband loved them and he can be difficult when it comes to "healthy" eating! I agree with the others who have said that cooking on a lower heat setting for longer, really helps. I also found that if I made the pancakes a bit smaller, they held together better, as the larger pancakes would sometimes take longer in the center and then the edges would get a little crispy/dark (from the eggs frying.) Either way, will be working on this again to perfect my technique! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
These were tasty with fresh strawberries this morning. Blended ours in a food processor, used pecans, hemp hearts, added an extra egg and a heaping tbsp. of almond butter so I could omit the coconut oil. Lower heat for longer definitely seems to make all of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These were yummy. Since I was out of walnuts, I used cashews instead of walnuts and just added to blender while mixing. Needs to cook a little longer on lower heat as I use cast iron. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States