Deliciously Healthy Paleo Pancakes With Banana and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2015
I make this weekly for my kids, one of which does not even like bananas and runs away when his sister is eating one. I add way more cinnamon bc we love it and you can nix the maple syrup and powder with powdered sugar for a less messy sticky snack. Make sure to use a NONSTICK and let cook on each side atleast 3 minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Tesarek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Taste was ok, but they were really thin. More like crepes. I would fill with ricotta and fruit next time and roll them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Green Jozwiak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kteal143
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious!! Makes a lot of pancakes! As others mentioned, cook slower at a lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Okay, real talk. For anyone just trying out the recipe: These aren't banana flavored pancakes, they are BANANA pancakes, or Pancaked Bananas if you prefer. You have to handle them thusly. First of all, LOWER TEMPERATURE! I cannot stress this enough. I made these as the pan was getting progressively hotter. The first one was great, the second tore, and the third was in loose floppy shreds. If the pan is hot enough that the batter bubbles and sizzles like eggs, it wont work, the bubbles destroy the integrity of the pancake and make it too thin to work with, and it'll scrunch and rip when you try to flip it. Second: Flipping. These pancakes are made of BANANA. They are STICKY. You shouldn't have too much trouble if the heat is low and you've oiled the pan, but even still, you can't be a baby about flipping them. You can't inch the spatula under the pancake or push it to the side or casually try to- NO! None of that nonsense, you need to thrust that spatula under the pancake like you mean business. If you've never done this with other foods, it may seem stupid, but trust me, it works like magic. Just a quick thrust under the pancake and it's on. Anyhow, these turned out great. I'm not Paleo or anything, I just like Pancaked Bananas, so I had them with a little bit of syrup. I'm totally making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Cooper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Joshua Tree, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I did not care for the flavor or the texture of these. They weren't too difficult to make until it came time to try to flip them. I tried 3 different spatulas and ended up making them into silver dollars just to flip them without them falling apart. However, my kids devoured them so if you are making them for kids they will probably be a hit. I will be freezing these so I can feed them to my Little one that is about to start baby led weaning..... but I will be making something else for myself to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Mcellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
5 star all the way, next time I will add chopped walnut or maybe raisins :) also maybe in a separate pan have some thin sliced apples and raisins and nuts simmered in honey or maple syrup to top cakes with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnda Swaine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My kids wanted pancakes as a bedtime snack, so I wanted a healthier version. This was perfect. My six year old made the batter (we halved it, but it still made more than a dozen pancakes) and we added about 1/2 cup of oats to help it hold together. I didn't have walnuts, but we added blueberries. I do agree that cooking longer on a lower heat is the way to go. The first batch fell apart, but the rest came out perfect once I adjusted the heat. We loved them and we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is great! I was looking for a paleo version for myself but my two toddlers and hubby love it too. It has no sugars which I am conscious of when cooking/baking for my kids. The only changes I made were to cut back a bit on the vanilla extract. I thought it was too much for my taste the first time I made it. I also add a few tablespoons of almond meal. I followed a tip from another reviewer to make them small so they're easier to flip. Also, cook them for longer than regular pancakes. It's in our regular rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These are awesome! I added both the cinnamon and walnuts to the batter. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These were amazing. I added chocolate chips to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States