Delicious and Easy Corn on the Cob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Super simple and delicious way to prepare corn. I used this method to cook our first corn of the 2015 season. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Simple and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It's awesome....just the way it is. I do have a trick from my mom though. Instead of using sugar, add 1/3 cup whole milk to the water, bring to a boil, shut off and let sit for 20-25 minutes. Sweet as sweet can be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is a good fix for "old" corn, but there is no need to add sugar to the water when cooking fresh corn. Simply bring water to a boil, add shucked and clean ears, boil for no more than 4 minutes. All you really need to do is heat the corn. Overcooking is what removes the natural sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
We use 1 teaspoon of sugar and squeeze half a lemon and drop it into the pot. Add the corn when the water is still cold. Boil for 5 min, turn off and cover, leave for 15 min. Wife has been making it that way for 30 years. Makes the corn sweet and its still crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
So simple, but the results are incredible! And 25 minutes in the pot is perfect! It cooks the corn just enough to keep it tender-crisp. Any less and it would taste underdone. Thanks for a great, simple, delicious way to make corn on the cob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Not as good as the microwave method and much more time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Way overdone. Noone in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I don't add sugar (if the corn is fresh, it's really not needed). I usually bring water to boil, add the corn, return to just boiling and then turn off the heat and put a lid on the pot. Let steep 10 minutes, and you have fresh, delicious corn that taste as if it just came out of the field. You can use this method on frozen corn on the cob as well. I learned this recipe over 60 years ago from my Mom, a Farmer's Wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Grilled Corn on the Cob

This simple grilling method yields perfect corn every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States