Delicious Whole Wheat Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I could not find my own recipe for fruitcake cookies, so this recipe was my choice. I should have gone with my gut and realized that with only two tablespoons of butter, these cookies would stick. I could not get the first cookies off the sheet at all. Stuck to the sheet like glue. This was a nice quality airbake sheet that I have baked hundreds of cookies on! For the next batch, decided to spray the sheet with non-stick spray. Most cookie recipes do not require this step. It helped, but they still stuck and many were torn apart as they were removed . They tasted just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovemysweets
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Oh boy, a new recipe that I really love and don't feel guilty about. I didn't see how this could work without egg or shortening, but I read reviews. Thanks folks! I tried to make them as printed, but I did add the cloves and nutmeg, and found my batter so runny it needed an extra 1/4 of flour to be able to hold together as a cookie (no way could I have rolled it into balls...worked fine dropping by teaspoons.) I added half a candied cherry to the top for holiday cheer. Will make again and again with different combinations of fruits. Think I will like it best without the candied peel...just lots of dried apricots, prunes, dates, cherries. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
OMG this recipe is FANTASTIC!!!!! I also swapped sugar out for honey and molasses 2tbsp each and used 1/2 cup cherries, 1/2 cup mixed fruit, 1/2 cup sliced almonds (all chopped) I had some raisins soaked in rum, so I used 1/2 cup of that as well. If anyone knows what 'a carribean bun' tastes like then welcome to this take on it!! Thanks I will be using this time and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Loved these cookies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were just very delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and chose pecan for my nuts. For those people who don't like the taste of whole wheat, I must tell you that you cannot taste it at all. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
they are more like little cakes than cookies! very soft and chewy and very very moist and full of taste! I put dry sweet fruit mix like coconut, mango, papaya, banana, pineapple and so on and they comes a little to much sweet, so next time I will reduce sugare depending on the fruit mix I put into..When cooled they have a wonderful crunchy surface but soft and chew inside. Time and temperature are perfect. Not for breakfast, better for tea o coffee time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOTHEROFLITTLE
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This has to be the easiest cookie recipe I have tried. I adore fruit cake but dont want to wait to eat it so this is a perfect recipe for me. I followed it exactly. The dried fruit mix had the peel included so I used 1 cup of mix and did not add the 1/2 cup peel called for and my chopped nuts were pecans. Even cook time was right on. Thanks Tuula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Excellent cookie. Easy to make and very tasty. Nice to have a healthier cookie. Will be making these alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made these into 10 mini loaves. Also made some changes: used about 2 tbsp. each of honey and molasses in place of sugar, added about 1/4 cup canned pumpkin; added nutmeg and cloves; used raisins, prunes, dried apple, dried pear, dried apricots, cranberries, walnuts, and almonds as filler; added some wheat germ; sprinkled with sifted powdered sugar. The first day they tasted just OK, but I put them in the fridge and the next few days they tasted better and better. Very dense and chewy. Next time I might try added a bit of almond liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Finally a low fat cookie that actually tastes good! I made about 30 medium sized cookies, and added some wheat germ when I ran out of whole wheat flour. I also reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and the sweetness was perfect. Just make sure to watch carefully as they cook, because even if they don't look done on top, they may be burning on the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States