Delicious Whole Wheat Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was truly a crowd pleaser. I made mini fruitcakes using three mini loaf pans, and baked for 40 minutes. Great gift idea also, wrapped in holiday plastic saran wrap and tied with ribbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
these cookies truly are delicious! and nutritious, I'm sure. I used honey as a substitute for sugar. Also, I added 1/2 cup of fresh strawberries because I didn't have dates, and that made the cookie very juicy, fragrant, and irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were just very delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and chose pecan for my nuts. For those people who don't like the taste of whole wheat, I must tell you that you cannot taste it at all. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe makes delicious cookies. I also added 1/4 t. cloves and 1/4 t. nutmeg, to add a little additional spiceness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Finally a low fat cookie that actually tastes good! I made about 30 medium sized cookies, and added some wheat germ when I ran out of whole wheat flour. I also reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and the sweetness was perfect. Just make sure to watch carefully as they cook, because even if they don't look done on top, they may be burning on the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were so good!! I made them as a cookie. I didn't have much dried fruit on hand, but used raisins, a dried strawberry fruit bar, and some cut-up marshmallow. I also added a half cup of oats for more filler. I realized I was out of ginger, but added the nutmeg/cloves like the other reviewer suggested. These almost had a molasses taste to them. I will make again. Wonder if there is a way to cut down on the sugar, though, without sacrificing too much flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Excellent cookie. Easy to make and very tasty. Nice to have a healthier cookie. Will be making these alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Loved these cookies !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
OMG this recipe is FANTASTIC!!!!! I also swapped sugar out for honey and molasses 2tbsp each and used 1/2 cup cherries, 1/2 cup mixed fruit, 1/2 cup sliced almonds (all chopped) I had some raisins soaked in rum, so I used 1/2 cup of that as well. If anyone knows what 'a carribean bun' tastes like then welcome to this take on it!! Thanks I will be using this time and time again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovemysweets
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Oh boy, a new recipe that I really love and don't feel guilty about. I didn't see how this could work without egg or shortening, but I read reviews. Thanks folks! I tried to make them as printed, but I did add the cloves and nutmeg, and found my batter so runny it needed an extra 1/4 of flour to be able to hold together as a cookie (no way could I have rolled it into balls...worked fine dropping by teaspoons.) I added half a candied cherry to the top for holiday cheer. Will make again and again with different combinations of fruits. Think I will like it best without the candied peel...just lots of dried apricots, prunes, dates, cherries. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States