Delicious Whole Wheat Fruitcake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I did like this as a cookie. I only used raisins, sliced almonds, and diced, dried apricots for the fillers. It is a sweet,chewy cookie that I'm sure is very low fat since it does'nt have any eggs or oil. Be sure to grease your cookie sheet and I suggest rolling the dough with lightly buttered hands to form balls rather than just spooning them onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This was truly a crowd pleaser. I made mini fruitcakes using three mini loaf pans, and baked for 40 minutes. Great gift idea also, wrapped in holiday plastic saran wrap and tied with ribbon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Finally a low fat cookie that actually tastes good! I made about 30 medium sized cookies, and added some wheat germ when I ran out of whole wheat flour. I also reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and the sweetness was perfect. Just make sure to watch carefully as they cook, because even if they don't look done on top, they may be burning on the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Made these into 10 mini loaves. Also made some changes: used about 2 tbsp. each of honey and molasses in place of sugar, added about 1/4 cup canned pumpkin; added nutmeg and cloves; used raisins, prunes, dried apple, dried pear, dried apricots, cranberries, walnuts, and almonds as filler; added some wheat germ; sprinkled with sifted powdered sugar. The first day they tasted just OK, but I put them in the fridge and the next few days they tasted better and better. Very dense and chewy. Next time I might try added a bit of almond liquor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
these cookies truly are delicious! and nutritious, I'm sure. I used honey as a substitute for sugar. Also, I added 1/2 cup of fresh strawberries because I didn't have dates, and that made the cookie very juicy, fragrant, and irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe makes delicious cookies. I also added 1/4 t. cloves and 1/4 t. nutmeg, to add a little additional spiceness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOTHEROFLITTLE
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This has to be the easiest cookie recipe I have tried. I adore fruit cake but dont want to wait to eat it so this is a perfect recipe for me. I followed it exactly. The dried fruit mix had the peel included so I used 1 cup of mix and did not add the 1/2 cup peel called for and my chopped nuts were pecans. Even cook time was right on. Thanks Tuula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Anna G.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
they are more like little cakes than cookies! very soft and chewy and very very moist and full of taste! I put dry sweet fruit mix like coconut, mango, papaya, banana, pineapple and so on and they comes a little to much sweet, so next time I will reduce sugare depending on the fruit mix I put into..When cooled they have a wonderful crunchy surface but soft and chew inside. Time and temperature are perfect. Not for breakfast, better for tea o coffee time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Excellent cookie. Easy to make and very tasty. Nice to have a healthier cookie. Will be making these alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were so good!! I made them as a cookie. I didn't have much dried fruit on hand, but used raisins, a dried strawberry fruit bar, and some cut-up marshmallow. I also added a half cup of oats for more filler. I realized I was out of ginger, but added the nutmeg/cloves like the other reviewer suggested. These almost had a molasses taste to them. I will make again. Wonder if there is a way to cut down on the sugar, though, without sacrificing too much flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States