Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is very tasy.! I never make changes the first time, but I had to due to my daughter having a soy allergy and also due to running out of cocoa which I thought I had enough of. So, I will tell you what I did in case you find yourself needing to make last minute substitutions like I did. I doubled this recipe for our family of 6 and it made just enough for 4 small mugs and 2 big ones. I used vanilla rice milk, did not add vanilla, just 1/2 tsp of salt instead of doubling, 1T of aguave (anymore sugar or salt would have been too much), I stuck to one pinch of cinnamon and cayenne and used 3 T of cocoa, and 5T of non dairy chocolate chips, because I ran out of cocoa. I also added a few more chocolate chips to mine and my husband's cups, because I like it VERY rich and chocolately and I felt it needed some more after I poured it. My kids gobbled this up and I am so glad to have a recipe that works for my daughter. Thanks, Cymbaline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Hot chocolate is one of the things I've missed the most since I stopped eating dairy over a year ago. So when I found this recipe, I was really excited to try it. I followed the recipe exactly as written - except I reduced the salt to a pinch (personal preference). It was sooooo yummy and creamy and rich. I will be making this again and again. Thank you Cymbaline! Finally I can drink hot chocolate again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA_MAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
It was so easy to make... Did everything to the exact measure except adding a little more cocoa powder (which did not need it) and cayenne pepper. Still YUMMY...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Aili Craven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mochi Puffs
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was easy and delicious. I think this recipe is perfect. I used unsweetened plain soy milk. For extra fun, I added a bit of peppermint schnapps. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used almond milk instead of soy (was just out of soy!) and added about an oz. of good quality chocolate chips, omitted the spices (cinnamon and cayenne). It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
very delicious! Easy and quick with onhand ingredients. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pharmacokatie
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made it with soy milk, cut the salt to a pinch and omitted the cayenne pepper. This was perfect on a cold rainy day. My four-year LOVED it. No more mixes for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I know I can't give this a true rating since I altered the recipe. I used rice milk (also vegan!) instead of soymilk, decreased salt to 1/8 teaspoon, and used 1 tablespoon of agave nectar instead of 3 Tablespoons of sugar. We omitted the cayenne pepper. The result: a deep chocolate flavor. We also put marshmallows on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was really delicious! We made ours with vegan-friendly chocolate bars broken into bits in place of the cocoa powder and found that the chocolate doesn't separate and sink as quickly, nor as easily, as the powder does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Viking Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very yummmy! I just usually add a little more sugar because I like things super sweet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States