Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I think i am the first person reviewing this who has actually done it with soy milk. i used vanilla soy milk and then added the vanilla extract, which gave it a very rich taste that i wasn't sure i liked. next time i used vanilla soy milk i omitted the vanilla extract from the recipe and it tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Hot chocolate is one of the things I've missed the most since I stopped eating dairy over a year ago. So when I found this recipe, I was really excited to try it. I followed the recipe exactly as written - except I reduced the salt to a pinch (personal preference). It was sooooo yummy and creamy and rich. I will be making this again and again. Thank you Cymbaline! Finally I can drink hot chocolate again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA_MAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was really delicious! We made ours with vegan-friendly chocolate bars broken into bits in place of the cocoa powder and found that the chocolate doesn't separate and sink as quickly, nor as easily, as the powder does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Viking Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I used almond milk instead of soy (was just out of soy!) and added about an oz. of good quality chocolate chips, omitted the spices (cinnamon and cayenne). It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I know I can't give this a true rating since I altered the recipe. I used rice milk (also vegan!) instead of soymilk, decreased salt to 1/8 teaspoon, and used 1 tablespoon of agave nectar instead of 3 Tablespoons of sugar. We omitted the cayenne pepper. The result: a deep chocolate flavor. We also put marshmallows on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is very tasy.! I never make changes the first time, but I had to due to my daughter having a soy allergy and also due to running out of cocoa which I thought I had enough of. So, I will tell you what I did in case you find yourself needing to make last minute substitutions like I did. I doubled this recipe for our family of 6 and it made just enough for 4 small mugs and 2 big ones. I used vanilla rice milk, did not add vanilla, just 1/2 tsp of salt instead of doubling, 1T of aguave (anymore sugar or salt would have been too much), I stuck to one pinch of cinnamon and cayenne and used 3 T of cocoa, and 5T of non dairy chocolate chips, because I ran out of cocoa. I also added a few more chocolate chips to mine and my husband's cups, because I like it VERY rich and chocolately and I felt it needed some more after I poured it. My kids gobbled this up and I am so glad to have a recipe that works for my daughter. Thanks, Cymbaline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I have made this recipe twice now. Both times I used milk instead of soy and it turned out excellent. Definately satisfies my chocolate cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Like the previous reviewer, I made this with actual milk, not soymilk (sorry, I know that defeats the purpose of this recipe). I thought this was pretty good, but next time I would reduce the salt to only a pinch. I didn't even put in the full 1/2 tsp and I though it was pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made this as written except I substituted agave syrup for the white sugar. It was not very sweet (agave is supposed to be even more sweet than sugar!). I used unsweetened milk, so maybe this recipe calls for sweetened soy milk?? I still enjoyed it, but my 4-year-old said it was missing something - sugar! I would probably add 1 extra Tablespoon of agave syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great great great. Very rich, I added a little cold soy to the end product to make it kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States