Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Holy Grail of Cocoa:  i adore cocoa so much that i drink it year round, cold in the summer.  so when i became vegan i was distraught that every alternative milk i tried tasted terrible with cocoa.  think of it like painting walls with red paint - it seems like a dark color but in fact, it's the sheerest and if you don't use dark primer, it will never look right.  likewise, chocolate seems like an intense flavor but it is easily overwhelmed by anything other than cow's milk, often leaving behind an aftertaste of rope (despite so many recommendations of adding cinnamon/cayenne) or too watery. finally, in desperation, i tried the very last alternative milk on the market, Pacific Brand's non-dairy OAT milk.  cocoa nirvana at last:  it's creamy enough, doesn't compete with the taste of cocoa and leaves no aftertaste.  i sweeten mine with a PINCH of organic stevia (man, that stuff is potent!).  NOW try all those vegan cocoa recipes! if you just adore soy milk or some other variety, add all the cocoa to it that you want.  but if what you want is the pure, unadulterated cocoa that God and Mr. Hershey intended, Oat Milk is your ticket to enjoying a true cup of cocoa sans dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I didn't like this. It came out a bit salty and bitter. Maybe it is because I used rice milk instead. I followed the rest of the recipe, though. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I've been making this recipe for at least a year so I thought it was time to write a review. When I went vegan a year ago I was craving some good hot chocolate, and with this recipe, you don't miss a thing in dairy. Creamy and sweet (but not TOO sweet, thankfully), this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Not Vegan! If you substitute raw sugar for white sugar it is though, and makes a decent hot chocolate :) Regular refined white sugar isn't vegan since charred animal bone is used in the refining process. I would just go ahead and substitute raw sugar and maybe add a bit of agave nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great recipe. I dumped all the ingredients into my vita mix and then blended till hot. It made the hot chocolate nice and frothy. My husband thinks it tastes like chocolate abuelita. It does not taste like hot chocoalte made with cows milk, but this hot drink is delicious! Perfect for a snowy day like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Just made it - YUM!!! We used SO coconut vanilla milk instead of soy and did not add the vanilla extract. Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I liked this recipe, but my family did not. The hot cocoa is pretty rich. I used almondmilk (personal preference).The cayenne gives the cocoa a good little kick, maybe a little too much for my taste. Overall, I'll probably make it again but maybe change the spices a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
decent; i put too much salt though ^^ next time ill try it with almond milk or oat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was a good hot chocolate idea, I'd been looking for a nice way to make cocoa taste good. I altered it for an instant cup - not a saucepan. Firstly, I'm don't like overly strong chocolate, so my mods were: 1.5 teaspoons cocoa 1.5 teaspoons white sugar (I'd use brown normally) 1/2-3/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract 1/8 teaspoon salt pinch cinnamon micro pinch of cayenne pepper I filled half the cup with boiling water and the rest with soy milk Very happy with result. It was the closest thing to a hot choc I have tasted so far. I'd never heard of adding cayenne pepper to cocoa, I had to try it - and if you don't over-do it, it adds that tiny bit of warmth. Overall, it was a very helpful recipe - I have found a perfect vegan hot choc, so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Riordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States