Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
delicious. my only suggestion is to add marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
So far, this has been my best attempt at vegan hot chocolate. I followed the instructions pretty much exact- except I might have extra big pinch with the spices and used raw sugar instead of white. I loved the spicy notes and the richness. In the past, I think I made the mistake of using cheap cocoa powder. Don't do this! Just spend the extra money and get the good stuff. It's a treat so you want it to taste decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I'm not big consumer of hot chocolate - I'd rather have a hoppy beer - but this is exceptional. Made it true to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used unsweetened plain almond milk, but found it needed a lot more sugar. For a half recipe, I did: 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened almond milk, 2.5 TBL sugar, 1.5 TBL cocoa, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp vanilla, pinch cayenne, pinch cinnamon. I might tweak it again and see how it fares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Yum. This was my first attempted recipe for homemade hot chocolate and I am so glad I tried it! I took advice from past comments and cut the salt in half. I also didn't have any cayenne so that was omitted. Very delicious stuff though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I was all out of white sugar, so I used brown sugar instead. Even with the minor adjustment, my hot chocolate was delicious! This will be my new go-to recipe when it's chilly outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Not bad at all! I tweaked it a bit myself: I used unsweetened almond milk, plus a smidge more sugar and left out the cayenne. Oh, also used only a pinch of salt, due to the reviews about saltiness. I can finally have hot cocoa on a cold night again! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I couldn't give 5 because I altered it. I used 1/2 rice milk and 1/2 almond milk (that's what I had -don't do soy). I also used 1 T cacao powder and 2 T agave (vs cocoa and sugar). Whisked the ingredients while heating to break up the cacao powder. It's really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was quick and easy. I didn't have the pepper so I omitted it. Also I used a bit too much cinnamon but it was tasty regardless. Next time I would mix the cocoa powder with a little bit of water before adding it into the saucepan- no clumps that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I just purchased a soymilk maker and was anxious to make hot chocolate with some of my first batch of milk. This recipe looked great, so I decided to give it a try. I cut the recipe in thirds because I really just wanted a bit. I used just a few grains of salt and omitted the cayenne pepper, since I didn't have any. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Next time, I might make it a tad bit sweeter and use stevia. And I will try it with cayenne. I like chocolate bars with a bit of chili, so I imagine I will like it with a bit of kick. All in all, a good, creamy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States