Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I used coconut milk rather than soy. This was really good. I may start experimenting with adding other flavors (hazelnut.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yummy and very rich--I had vanilla soy milk so I halved the added vanilla, thought it turned out very well. Even my dad, who wasn't exactly thrilled about it being vegan, thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I was sitting here in the heat of FLorida, snuggled up with a book when the mentioned Serendipity's in NYC and I got an urge for hot chocolate and just made this recipe. I only had lite soy as that is what I normally use just for cereal and this is sooo very yummy. As someone else mentioned, way too much salt, I think I would leave it out or put a pinch in. Next time I will use reg soy so it's creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Despite not being a vegan, I loved this recipe, perfect hot chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Pretty good! I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and skipped the salt and cayenne pepper. I enjoyed the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I'd never had soy hot chocolate before and wasn't sure what to expect, but this didn't taste "soy" it just tasted like good hot chocolate. I cut the soy milk, cocoa, and sugar amounts in half, since I just wanted one serving. After reading other reviews I sprinkled in only a little bit of salt. I forgot to halve the vanilla, and never noticed till after I'd finished drinking it. It was rich and chocolate-y. Another time I will try melting some chocolate in instead of using cocoa powder, as other reviewers have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I only made this one time...I'd reduce the salt significantly or drop it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Gardens, Florida, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I'm so bummed to give a bad rating to such a unique recipe and representing the vegans too! I was really looking forward to this recipe but even following recipe *almost* exactly it turned out bad! I cut the salt in half just because I hate things salty and alas, still salty! I even used the original soymilk! I just don't know what's wrong here and I'll have to try a few changes and see if we can figure something out because this is such a brilliant idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is very tasy.! I never make changes the first time, but I had to due to my daughter having a soy allergy and also due to running out of cocoa which I thought I had enough of. So, I will tell you what I did in case you find yourself needing to make last minute substitutions like I did. I doubled this recipe for our family of 6 and it made just enough for 4 small mugs and 2 big ones. I used vanilla rice milk, did not add vanilla, just 1/2 tsp of salt instead of doubling, 1T of aguave (anymore sugar or salt would have been too much), I stuck to one pinch of cinnamon and cayenne and used 3 T of cocoa, and 5T of non dairy chocolate chips, because I ran out of cocoa. I also added a few more chocolate chips to mine and my husband's cups, because I like it VERY rich and chocolately and I felt it needed some more after I poured it. My kids gobbled this up and I am so glad to have a recipe that works for my daughter. Thanks, Cymbaline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Hot chocolate is one of the things I've missed the most since I stopped eating dairy over a year ago. So when I found this recipe, I was really excited to try it. I followed the recipe exactly as written - except I reduced the salt to a pinch (personal preference). It was sooooo yummy and creamy and rich. I will be making this again and again. Thank you Cymbaline! Finally I can drink hot chocolate again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA_MAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States