Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I used vanilla soy milk as that's what I had on hand so I omitted the vanilla extract as I thought it might be too much. The result was great. I'm not that big of a fan of chocolate but I really love this hot chocolate. It's very easy to whip up a quick mug and it tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Overall, I thought this was pretty tasty, although too salty. I cut the salt by half and still thought it was too salty. I'd recommend reducing the salt to 1/8 tsp. The cayenne pepper is a nice touch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orpheus
Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
needs more sugar, just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I mostly looked up this recipe to find the right measurements for basic hot cocoa...last time I tried to wing it it tasted terrible :( So...the measurements were very helpful and I made several variations. Real whole milk, a dash of vanilla coffee creamer, a cinnamon stick instead of dash of cinnamon and omitted the cayenne pepper and only a dash of salt. Basically, we all make our own tweaks to a recipe :) Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Whoa Nelly! Being a self-proclaimed hot chocolate expert, I have to say that this recipe is top-notch. With or without the cayenne pepper, my roommates and I loved this. It's rich, frothy, and very decadent. The only trouble was that I had a hard time separating the clumps of cocoa powder that formed when I put it into the water. Any suggestions for how to remedy this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is NOT vegan, for the record. Vegans don't use refined sugar or table salt or anything processed. Still a good recipe, however. Those of you who think you're vegan because you don't partake in dairy are mistaken, you're vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amuffledscream
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Eeeeeeee, it was lovelllly!!! Even better than I remember as a child. Hit the spot and warmed me right down to my toes. Big THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made this as written except I substituted agave syrup for the white sugar. It was not very sweet (agave is supposed to be even more sweet than sugar!). I used unsweetened milk, so maybe this recipe calls for sweetened soy milk?? I still enjoyed it, but my 4-year-old said it was missing something - sugar! I would probably add 1 extra Tablespoon of agave syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great great great. Very rich, I added a little cold soy to the end product to make it kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This hot chocolate is delicious and easy to make. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because it needed a tbls more sugar, also i put only a dash of salt in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States