Delicious Vegan Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I mostly looked up this recipe to find the right measurements for basic hot cocoa...last time I tried to wing it it tasted terrible :( So...the measurements were very helpful and I made several variations. Real whole milk, a dash of vanilla coffee creamer, a cinnamon stick instead of dash of cinnamon and omitted the cayenne pepper and only a dash of salt. Basically, we all make our own tweaks to a recipe :) Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Whoa Nelly! Being a self-proclaimed hot chocolate expert, I have to say that this recipe is top-notch. With or without the cayenne pepper, my roommates and I loved this. It's rich, frothy, and very decadent. The only trouble was that I had a hard time separating the clumps of cocoa powder that formed when I put it into the water. Any suggestions for how to remedy this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This is NOT vegan, for the record. Vegans don't use refined sugar or table salt or anything processed. Still a good recipe, however. Those of you who think you're vegan because you don't partake in dairy are mistaken, you're vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amuffledscream
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Eeeeeeee, it was lovelllly!!! Even better than I remember as a child. Hit the spot and warmed me right down to my toes. Big THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made this as written except I substituted agave syrup for the white sugar. It was not very sweet (agave is supposed to be even more sweet than sugar!). I used unsweetened milk, so maybe this recipe calls for sweetened soy milk?? I still enjoyed it, but my 4-year-old said it was missing something - sugar! I would probably add 1 extra Tablespoon of agave syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Great great great. Very rich, I added a little cold soy to the end product to make it kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This hot chocolate is delicious and easy to make. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because it needed a tbls more sugar, also i put only a dash of salt in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I wish I had read the comments better, the salt was way too much, couldn't drink it :( I used sea salt, maybe that was the problem. Also used Splenda instead of white sugar which worked great ~ I'm sure raw sugar would work as well, making it a better vegan choice for me :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This hot chocolate is da bomb!!! I loved it......thanx for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Shanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
nutmeg is also great in this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States