Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've never had potato pancakes before and I have to say I loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, using some cayenne pepper in the potato mixture and Italian bread crumbs in the ground beef. These came out so delicious! As I was frying it, the thought hit me that I could have added some shredded cheese on top the ground beef. I ended up serving these with a generous grating of cheddar cheese on top, with ketchup and hot sauce as a dip. I initially started off eating these with a fork but soon realized I could eat them like a burger! These would make a different but good lunch for kids to carry to school. Maybe by adding the cheese in the middle and seasoning the meat mixture with BBQ sauce to eliminate the need for any dip. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Thanks for the reviews! Adding cheese sounds really good, dont know why I havent thought of it! Also I posted this as a very basic recipe, I dont like posting complex recipes because everyone has their own taste and others may not like what I do. This is just an idea, I encourage you to add your own herbs and spices, and whatever else sounds good to you. I'm sure you will enjoy it more if you make it your way. I also wanted to add that you really need to squeeze all the liquid out. Its a bit tricky because it seems as though more liquid keeps coming out. So I suggest as you are forming them, keep squeezing the extra liquid out. That might be the reason some people had trouble with them falling apart. Browla1, I wrote the recipe and there is no need to pre cook the meat filling, the frying time should be enough to cook the meat through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Oh man this sounds good! I think I will try it tonight! You know what else might be a great idea is instead of ground beef make it breakfast and have pork sausage and eggs for the filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made a few changes and will rate the result of those changes. Firstly, this is a great mealtime idea; only my meal was breakfast! Secondly, I will, because of the response, do this again. I had enough egg substitute to use in the potato mixture and only one egg left in the fridge which I used for the "filling". My filling was a good premium breakfast sausage! I omitted the garlic (no big fan, here) and used maybe a couple tablespoons finely diced onion. I pre-cooked the sausage and onion so the onion wouldn't be crunchy, just until the pink was gone in the meat, drained it really well and then continued with recipe as written. I put a drizzle of maple syrup on mine and the GK's wanted a dusting of powdered sugar on theirs. Big tall glasses of OJ, steaming coffee and a delicious breakfast was enjoyed by all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very good! I added cheese to some in the middle and some I added on top. Great with sour cream. I did mess up and add the onions to the potato mixture instead of to the meat. Will make again. I wonder if you could use frozen shredded potatoes???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These are delicious, easy, and cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My husband really liked these. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I thaught they were verry good. I then changed the recipe,and sub.ground cooked pork in place of hamberger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We eat potato pancakes often, this receipe really caught my eye. We tried it the same evening and it was just great. We did make a slight change, we fried the ground beef first then followed the instructions in the receipe. Wonderful experience, washed it down with a glass of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States