Delicious Stuffed Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
As written, I'd only give this a 3 out of 5. However, with a bit of spicing up -- perhaps following some or all of the suggestions of other reviewers -- it could bump up to a 4 or even a 5. I, too, wasn't sure if I should cook the beef, beforehand, or not. It seemed to me that it wouldn't cook by itself between the layers, so I decided to follow comments of other reviewers and assume that the beef was to be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made this for dinner tonight, and it was delicious and filling! I cooked the beef and drained the fat before filling the pancakes. For the beef, I added spices (garlic and a little allspice). To the potatoe mixture, I used a whole onion and 3 cloves of garlic for taste, and also, added 1/2 cup of additional flour and 1/4 cup of milk (which makes the potatoe more of a batter, which is easier to spread when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe was very good, in my opinion. As the 'author' of the recipe said, it is a basic recipe, designed to tweak. I did customize to my own taste and added both shredded onion as well as garlic powder to the recipe. I can think of all sorts of ways to change it up and enjoy it all. Thanks Tallya for your contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was our first experience with potato pancakes. Bland and greasy - it will be a long time before we try another potato pancake recipe. This wasn't bad, but not worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very good, but I would add garlic, or green chili's to the potatos. When ready to serve add cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Easy and Tasty, would add a little spice to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Didn't really like this version of potato pancakes. I was raised on kosher potato pancakes made and served only with dairy products and I still eat them thus. Of course, there's no culinary restriction to filling potato pancakes with lean ground beef 'in-betweens' - they're divine tasting for most diners and my table mates gobbled them up greedily. Two stars from the chef and three from the diners was the count on these latkes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were good, but a little bland. I agree with one reviewer that sausage would be wonderful! I drizzled mine with a little gravy and my hubby and I both liked them better that way. The hamburger does not need to be cooked first since it is only 2 teaspoons spread thinly on each pancake. 7 minutes is plenty of time to thoroughly cook it. BTW, for all of you who are leaving one star with comments that you haven't even tried the recipe yet, you should know that this is where you review a recipe, not make comments or ask questions. You're bringing down the average review rating when you do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very good need to add something to meat to give it a little more flavor....don't know what. added cheese on top of meat. maybe try some cyane pepper or something next time. overall very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We have been making potato pancakes for years, but this is a new and great idea. Our pancakes include lots of onion and we serve applesauce and sausage on the side. Can't wait to try this one with my own spices, etc! It's more like a main meal than breakfast. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States